Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Heroes of Land, Air & Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lizard Witch Doctor rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Malczak
United States
Fairfax
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, so here is a fun one.

The Lizard Witch doctor who is next to his own capital uses a March action to swap places with an opposing army (level 1 ability). Then using the level 2 ability, he causes the army he just swapped with to attack his capital.

Questions:

1) Is the Lizard (in his capital) the attacker or defender?
2) Who (if anyone) gets the +2 for the 3rd level ability on the witch doctor?

This game is very cool, the but the massive number of pervasive abilities and interactions is making it much much more complicated than it seems at first. And most of these questions are basically game changing situations (as in the one we have tonight with the witch doctor dragging a huge dwarf force to suicide into the lizard capital).

Any help appreciated!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Coe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.GamelynGames.com
badge
www.GamelynGames.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. The Lizardfolk player would be the attacker as that player caused the Battle to happen.
2. The army of the Lizardfolk player would get +2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Malczak
United States
Fairfax
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, thanks for the answer.

So then the player 'attacking' the capital wouldn't be able to play Siege and the Lizard couldn't play Barricade? Seems bass-ackwards and also messes with other abilities in odd ways.

Corollary question:

The Witch Doctor is next to another player's capital. He swaps with a 3rd player's army and has that player's army attack the 2nd player's capital. Now who would be the attacker? Would they get the VP?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Coe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.GamelynGames.com
badge
www.GamelynGames.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you mean, would they get the +2 bonus?

In the event that the Lizardfolk player, who initiated the battle, is not in the battle, the army that was moved in is the attacker. They would not get the +2, as that is for "your", the Lizardfolk player, army and your army isn't in the battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Malczak
United States
Fairfax
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks again for the clarification! It seems like an extremely powerful/annoying ability to have lol.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.