Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some rule questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hobbabobba booh
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Had a nice game last weekend where the rules questions below arose. First a sumnary of the game (skip to get to rule questions). Ferengi had a great beginning, flourishing with trading and prosperity, until the Federation and Klingons realised that the great wealth would soon buy the Ferengi victory. Massive Klingon fleets launched on Ferengi homeworld, conquering it through 2 massive attacks, defended by Ferengi mercenaries (built 20 ships for two rounds). Federation first banned the trading fleets and, after the Ferengi decimation, formed a defensive alliance with Ferengi against the unstoppable Klingon fleets, to save Earth. Romulus had a safe haven corner, exploring and researching advancements on their own. They could easily have used the ongoing battles to conquer Klingon and Federation homeworlds in a round with two fatal blows, but had no such ambitions but kept to their xenophonic lifestyle. Just before the Klingons would invade Earth, delayed by joint Federation and Ferengi forces, Federation reached Ascendacy victory. Thus apparently so ascended that they could convince the warmongling Klingons to go home and join the Federation peace treaty.

-When drawing new advancements, are you allowed to discard below the research limit? If your limit is two and you have no (zero) ongoing advancements when drawing, are you allowed to discard one or both cards, or do you Have to keep both cards?

-With the Ferengi arms dealer and shield dito, you are allowed to pay for weapons or shield upgrades with production instead of research. Is it either or? E.g. can I mix payment with with 3 production and 3 research for a weapons upgrade?

-Can the starbases ever be moved/destroyed?
By an opponent, can they allocate hits to starbases? Can you spend a command to attack a starbase even though there are no ships of that faction there?
Can you build starbase a fourth time, by moving a previously built starbase? Can you do so even when the starbase has been conquered?

-If you conquer/take over an opponents starbase with a system, do you get both the starbase and the bonus command token?

-If you lose your home planet, can you choose a new home planet, just for production of starships?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I can supply at least some answers:

-Can the starbases ever be moved/destroyed? By an opponent, can they allocate hits to starbases? No.

Can you spend a command to attack a starbase even though there are no ships of that faction there? No.

Can you build starbase a fourth time, by moving a previously built starbase? Can you do so even when the starbase has been conquered? Again no.

The Rulebook clearly states, that Starbases are so special, that once established, they remain in the game for the rest of the game.

-If you conquer/take over an opponents starbase with a system, do you get both the starbase and the bonus command token? Yes. That you do. You get a new commamd token and the player who had previously owned that base, loses one.


-If you lose your home planet, can you choose a new home planet, just for production of starships? No. Homeworlds are very important and can't be replaced!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hobbabobbabooh wrote:
-When drawing new advancements, are you allowed to discard below the research limit? If your limit is two and you have no (zero) ongoing advancements when drawing, are you allowed to discard one or both cards, or do you Have to keep both cards?


Why would you ever want to?

As soon as you feel ready you should move to the advanced rule "Focused Research".

hobbabobbabooh wrote:
-With the Ferengi arms dealer and shield dito, you are allowed to pay for weapons or shield upgrades with production instead of research. Is it either or? E.g. can I mix payment with with 3 production and 3 research for a weapons upgrade?


No.

hobbabobbabooh wrote:
-Can the starbases ever be moved/destroyed?
By an opponent, can they allocate hits to starbases? Can you spend a command to attack a starbase even though there are no ships of that faction there?
Can you build starbase a fourth time, by moving a previously built starbase? Can you do so even when the starbase has been conquered?


No (rulebook p22).

hobbabobbabooh wrote:
-If you conquer/take over an opponents starbase with a system, do you get both the starbase and the bonus command token?


Yes (rulebook p20).

hobbabobbabooh wrote:
-If you lose your home planet, can you choose a new home planet, just for production of starships?


No.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew S.
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mattias wrote:
hobbabobbabooh wrote:
-When drawing new advancements, are you allowed to discard below the research limit? If your limit is two and you have no (zero) ongoing advancements when drawing, are you allowed to discard one or both cards, or do you Have to keep both cards?


Why would you ever want to?


In case you draw a really good Advancement and one of your rivals is in a position to easily conquer a world of yours that has a Research node because, as we all know, capturing a Research node allows your rival take one of your Projects.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DrewDecimal wrote:
Mattias wrote:
hobbabobbabooh wrote:
-When drawing new advancements, are you allowed to discard below the research limit? If your limit is two and you have no (zero) ongoing advancements when drawing, are you allowed to discard one or both cards, or do you Have to keep both cards?


Why would you ever want to?


In case you draw a really good Advancement and one of your rivals is in a position to easily conquer a world of yours that has a Research node because, as we all know, capturing a Research node allows your rival take one of your Projects.

He doesn't select which one he gets. You choose which one to give him, so it might actually be beneficial to have a project or two that you don't intend to develop (rulebook p20).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.