Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Paralyzed Team on a US-occupied card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stuart
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Currently reviewing the LAT/Pinned Activity Check Hierarchy.

Down at the bottom of the chart is 'paralyzed team on a US-occupied card'. The only option here is no action; they always do nothing.

However, if that paralyzed unit is not only paralyzed but also pinned then presumably they fall under one of the first two options in the same chart 'pinned under / not under cover on a US-occupied card', which gives them several possible actions including seek cover, rally and fall back.

It seems a little counter-intuitive that a team not only paralysed but also pinned by US fire is more likely to leap up and start doing stuff than an unpinned paralyzed team.

The rulebook instructs that you work your way down the chart seeking the first applicable option, but am I missing an errata somewhere which treats paralyzed teams as an exception, or some such?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vic R
Spain
Tomares (Seville)
flag msg tools
badge
Pure mathematics is the world's best game. It is more absorbing than chess, more of a gamble than poker, and lasts longer than Monopoly. It's free. It can be played anywhere - Archimedes did it in a bathtub
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A paralyzed team it is paralyzed ie do nothing. However a paralyzed team being shot (and pinned means under intense fire) can do lots of things, like snap out of their paralyzed state and start to run away (among other things).
US units can similarly improve after being "hit" transforming from paralyzed to litter, for example, if the right card appears.
So not counter-intuitive or non thematic in my opinion
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.