Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Unicornus Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Princess route calculation: each space or start of turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Worm Johnson
msg tools
When does the princess calculate her move route: at every space, or at the start of her turn?

Say that her shortest path to the capital is straight ahead. The space in front of her is empty, however the next space is blocked by kingdom characters and you would have to swing around to an adjacent side area to get around them. What would the princess do, assuming she can move 3?

1. Calculate route per space: move 1 space forward, get blocked by the kingdom characters, move 1 space back to her original spot to begin the side route detour, then move back to the blocked space because now the shortest route is one space in front of her? In essence she'll be caught in this 2 space loop as long as those kingdom characters are blocking the way.

2. Calculate route at start of turn: she sees the shortest unobstructed route to the capital is via the side area, so she begins her movement going 3 spaces that way.

3. Calculate until blocked: she calculates the shortest route is straight ahead, move one space up, is blocked, then calculates a the new side route and moves 1 space back to her original spot then 1 space toward the side route.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Iennaco
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Assuming I got your situation right: advance, collect (because she is blocked), collect (because she is blocked).

The rules (page 13) seem clear to me : she does 3 actions, one at a time (negating your option 2) and "can never move to a space that is farther away [from the Capital]" (negating your options 1 and 3).
And if she cannot move (lacks resources or is blocked), she Colletcs.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Worm Johnson
msg tools
Oh, didn't see the rule about never moving farther away.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.