Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Inis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Iron Mine cancelled by Geis (or other effect) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznań
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
spiral out
badge
keep going
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As I understand, Iron Mine sort of "replaces" the standard attack manouver, so if it resolves, opponent doesn't suffer standard attack consequences (clan or card) AND then loses another clan AND card, but instead, but rather just the effect of Iron Mine (which is just no choice given).

But what if Iron Mine is cancelled? Does the attack fail totally and the opponent doesn't have to do anything, or does standard attack manouver take place?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt L.
United States
Seahurst
Washington
flag msg tools
I have text here
badge
So important!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Geis cancels only Green cards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznań
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
spiral out
badge
keep going
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yikes! Missed that. Replace Geis with The Dagda then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt L.
United States
Seahurst
Washington
flag msg tools
I have text here
badge
So important!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't have the game handy, you'll have to remind me the text on Dagda.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznań
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
spiral out
badge
keep going
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It’s Geis for Epic Tales and Advantage cards - allows to cancel them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
"~When you perform an attack maneuver

The attacked player must both discard"

I would say Dagda would just remove the double effect but not cancel the attack. The attack maneuver performed would be the regular attack maneuver.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt L.
United States
Seahurst
Washington
flag msg tools
I have text here
badge
So important!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, difference between cancelling and blocking.

(sidenote : I don't remember how to keep track of effect vs affect some days)

If you cancel a card, none of its effects happen. If you were to be blocked from the effects of a card, then the card proceeds but doesn't affect you.

In the case of cancelling an Advantage card, I would treat it as though it were never played, so the standard attack affects continue and you're left with the choice to remove a clan or discard a green card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

First, Iron Mine doesn't replace the attack: after you attack normally ("I attack") it replaces the effect of the attack by its effect (losing a clan AND an action card).
So if you Dagda the iron mine, only its effect is cancelled, not the attack, and the attacked player gets to choose to lose a clan or a card, as if iron mine hadn't been played.

Hope that's clear
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Zarzycki
Poland
Poznań
Wielkopolskie
flag msg tools
spiral out
badge
keep going
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kris wrote:

First, Iron Mine doesn't replace the attack: after you attack normally ("I attack") it replaces the effect of the attack by its effect (losing a clan AND an action card).


Ah, that's a good way to look at and explain that!

Kris wrote:

So if you Dagda the iron mine, only its effect is cancelled, not the attack, and the attacked player gets to choose to lose a clan or a card, as if iron mine hadn't been played.

Hope that's clear :)


Perfectly clear, thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.