Joan Bofill

Bellcaire d'Empordà
Girona
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Finger of Jade reads:
Quote:
Interrupt: When the effects of a card ability that targets attached character would initiate, sacrifice this attachment – cancel those effects.


Can it cancel the effect from an attached card like Cloud the Mind or Pacifism?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Goodnight
United States
Newmarket
NH
flag msg tools
mbmb
No, I don't think so. The attachments don't target the character, they just have an effect on the attached character.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Bottorff
msg tools
mb
Passive abilities don't 'initiate' so you can't cancel them with Finger of Jade.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joan Bofill

Bellcaire d'Empordà
Girona
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly what I though about it.
Thank you for the replies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Additional fun things to note:

The word "choose" indicates targeting is taking place. https://fiveringsdb.com/rules/reference#choose

Finger of Jade can cancel Covert.
http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/index.php?/topic/37812-fing...

Finger of Jade can't cancel Court Games, as the choosing takes place as part of effect resolution, by which stage it's too late to cancel.
https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/263989-some-i...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.