Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Crystal Clans» Forums » Rules

Subject: Predict? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A S
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all,

With the Meteor Clan's Predict, do you announce to your opponent or write it down?

Seems announcing it could affect what they play (from their hand, at least).

Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They lay it down, you guess what it is. They flip it over.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A S
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Aha!
Brilliant.

Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Berman
United States
Jamison
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Predict happens before battle cards are chosen, so Meteor announces it prior to either player selecting their battle card. So yes, the opponent will know what you're predicting.

So let's say you, as Meteor really want to play a turtle/guarded card. So you can predict that your opponent will play bull/bold. Now your opponent needs to choose between playing that bull card for the battle card advantage, thus giving you an initiative and a card, or playing something else but not gaining the upper hand in battle.

Unless of course you as Meteor predicted bull, making them think you were playing turtle, but you actually played fox, so now if they play bull you gain the initiative, the card, and get your left effect.

Predict is a mind game.



One quick note, if Meteor has no cards in hand, they would need to predict before drawing the card off of the top of their draw pile, effectively using predict blindly, since the act of taking the card from their draw pile is considered to be "selecting the battle card"
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Mezzotero
msg tools
designer
badge
Running on last click.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jtberman wrote:
Predict happens before battle cards are chosen, so Meteor announces it prior to either player selecting their battle card. So yes, the opponent will know what you're predicting."


Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.