Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pandemic Legacy: Season 2» Forums » Rules

Subject: Box 8 - rules check, please? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian N
msg tools
Am I right in reading the text
"UTOPIA CANNOT BE IMPROVED"
on the new Infection cards in Box 8 as, simply, "Card Improvements cannot be placed on this card"?

I thought of a whole range of other possible interpretations, mostly revolving around temporary or permanent board structures. But (with the exception of its possibly being some kind of political statement on behalf of the local authorities) none of them seemed the sort of things to be on the cards in question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian N
msg tools
Thanks. Just about everything else I thought of had the potential to make the final month a LOT harder...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This refers to the stickers you can put on player cards and infection cards using your game-end production, such as "Well Stocked" or "Foundations". The Utopia cards do not have any "slots" for adding stickers like most cards do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian N
msg tools
Antistone wrote:
This refers to the stickers you can put on player cards and infection cards using your game-end production, such as "Well Stocked" or "Foundations". The Utopia cards do not have any "slots" for adding stickers like most cards do.

Yes, I spotted that in the end. And I can see that it cuts out a whole range of possible "clever" tactics to gain an easy ride with the December Infection deck.

I think that part of my problem was that we'd only placed two improvements on Infection cards during the entire game through to end November, so they didn't immediately spring to mind. Plus the words don't mention "cards" or "improvements" - just "Utopia cannot be improved". And at a stretch I could see things as basic as building a temporary board structure being described as "improving Utopia" as well. So the words could be taken to mean something as extreme as, e.g., "You can't build any structures in Utopia". But, then again - an infection card would be a really odd place to put the rule, if that were the intended reading.

Thanks.

(I also have "history"... my job for quite a while involved, amongst other things, checking that technical writing was unambiguous - and if there's one thing I discovered, it's that it's non-trivial. Give the words you've sweated over for hours to three different people, and they'll find two to four ways of reading it that you never considered.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Ogren
msg tools
mb
Hmm. I interpreted it to mean that the city of Utopia couldn't have any city improvements like satellites, shelters, or supply centers. All of these seemed thematically correct (you can't build these kinds of things in enemy territory) and also somewhat relevant to difficulty. Utopia will be swarming with Hollow Men pretty quickly because of the way the infection deck is stacked and not being able build a shelter means you have to get out of dodge quickly or risk exposure. (It also means you may take some population hits that could affect final score.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian N
msg tools
loudwalrus wrote:
Hmm. I interpreted it to mean that the city of Utopia couldn't have any city improvements like satellites, shelters, or supply centers. All of these seemed thematically correct (you can't build these kinds of things in enemy territory) and also somewhat relevant to difficulty. Utopia will be swarming with Hollow Men pretty quickly because of the way the infection deck is stacked and not being able build a shelter means you have to get out of dodge quickly or risk exposure. (It also means you may take some population hits that could affect final score.)

And that possible interpretation was precisely why I came here and asked the question.

In all honesty - assuming we didn't miss another critical rule - I don't think it would have made a massive difference to us. Our Utopia was never "swarming with Hollow Men"; we saw 3 there in total. In fact, we had rather more on a couple of the initial cities we were using as "Honey Pots" (four cards deliberately left in the Infection deck; permanent Shelters; modest supply levels topped up as required, to minimise Incidents; "Hollow Men welcome!" signs prominently displayed). Relevant parts of our own December went as follows, to the best of my ability to remember it. (Edit: Possible spoiler removed, but I've still left this in tags.)
Spoiler (click to reveal)
We'd anticipated possibly getting several Utopia cards during the Infect, so we'd stacked Utopia with enough supplies to avoid any possibility of an initial Incident. The actual Infect brought out (from memory) 4 Utopia cards, one of which was a Hollow Men. The Hollow Men we immediately Misdirected to a suitably pleasant Rest Home in Japan; the cards we Inoculated as soon as we could get someone in there (on the second player's turn). None of them came came back out. (Oh, and we'd had a stroke of blind luck that undoubtedly helped; we'd managed to Lockdown Shanghai in November.)

We did build a shelter in Utopia at the earliest opportunity, but (as indicated) we only saw Hollow Men Gather on Utopia twice more before it ceased to matter. I can't swear that we would have had the actions left to shift those as well and end the game on the same move that we did - not least, we'd have spent more actions trying to avoid characters starting turns on Utopia because of its Infested status, so I suspect it would have gone once more round the board. And like everyone else I've learned that Pandemic can deal very harshly with players who think that they have plenty of time in hand. But we were a long way from losing (we'd had 2 Incidents and 3 Epidemics at game end), and we felt well under control all the way. Yes, it might have cost us a couple of points; I doubt we'd have noticed or cared.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.