Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Diplomacy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newb question about gaining units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Demers
United States
Providence
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
“So most men teach, and few men learn.” ~Sador, The Children of Hurin
badge
“Let the unseen days be. Today is more than enough.” ~Sador, The Children of Hurin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just got this game in a trade, and am trying to do a solo playthrough to learn the basic rules of the game. I'm confused as to how you gain new fleets/armies.

The rulebook states:

After each Fall turn, players check to see how many supply centers they control. A country controls a supply center when one its units occupies that supply-center province after a Fall turn has been played and completed.

And elsewhere:

If a country has more supply centers than units, it can place new units in each unoccupied supply center of its home country that it still controls.

This seems contradictory to me. Can someone help? How can I get new units if they have to go in unoccupied supply centers but I can only build units if I occupy those same supply centers?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick West
Scotland
Colinton
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
"Only two things are infinite; the universe and human stupidity....
badge
....and I'm not certain about the universe." Albert Einstein
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You control a supply centre if you (first) occupy it at the end of the turn. So if you end a Fall turn owning a supply centre and move out in a later turn you still count as owning it (until somebody else ends a Fall turn in occupation).

Add up your controlled supply centres, deduct the number of units you now have on the board and you can (but do not have to) add new units in unoccupied home supply centres.

Welcome to a great game!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samy
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Chaaaarge!!
badge
First Image Ever of a Hydrogen Atom's Electron Cloud
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once you get control of a center you keep it, even if the unit moves out (until someone else occupies it in the Fall). Otherwise you would lose control of your home centres very quickly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rice
United States
LIHUE
HI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And do note you can only gain new units in your home country (your original supply centers).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PJ Cunningham
United States
Greenfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As an example, let's look at some sample orders for Austria-Hungary.

Austria begins the game with three (3) supply centers and three (3) units. Let's assume the Austrian player writes the following orders:

Spring 1901:
A(rmy) Budapest to Serbia
A(rmy) Vienna to Budapest
F(leet) Trieste to Albania

So now the Austrian units occupy different territories, one of which is a supply center (Serbia) not already controlled by Austria, but because this was Spring, Austria cannot claim it (yet). On the next turn, the Austrian player writes the following orders:

Fall 1901:
A Serbia to Bulgaria
A Budapest to Serbia
F Albania to Greece

(Note how the names of the units have changed to correspond to their new locations.)

For the sake of this example, let's assume that Turkey also tried to take Bulgaria, which means Army Serbia is unable to go there. Furthermore, this invalidates the order given to Army Budapest, so it stays where it is as well.

So at the end of Fall, Austrian units occupy two (2) additional supply centers (Greece and Serbia), bringing the total number of supply centers claimed by Austria to five (5). (For purposes of this example, we're assuming no one invaded Austria's home supply centers.)

During winter builds, we compare number of existing units (3) with number of SC's (5) and find that Austria is able to build 2 new units. You are able to build new units only in vacant home supply centers, which in this case are Trieste and Vienna (there's an army in Budapest).

So during winter, the Austrian player would be able to build an army in Vienna and an army or fleet in Trieste, bringing the total number of units up to five (5) to match its supply centers.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Demers
United States
Providence
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
“So most men teach, and few men learn.” ~Sador, The Children of Hurin
badge
“Let the unseen days be. Today is more than enough.” ~Sador, The Children of Hurin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ironregime wrote:
As an example, let's look at some sample orders for Austria-Hungary.

Austria begins the game with three (3) supply centers and three (3) units. Let's assume the Austrian player writes the following orders:

Spring 1901:
A(rmy) Budapest to Serbia
A(rmy) Vienna to Budapest
F(leet) Trieste to Albania

So now the Austrian units occupy different territories, one of which is a supply center (Serbia) not already controlled by Austria, but because this was Spring, Austria cannot claim it (yet). On the next turn, the Austrian player writes the following orders:

Fall 1901:
A Serbia to Bulgaria
A Budapest to Serbia
F Albania to Greece

(Note how the names of the units have changed to correspond to their new locations.)

For the sake of this example, let's assume that Turkey also tried to take Bulgaria, which means Army Serbia is unable to go there. Furthermore, this invalidates the order given to Army Budapest, so it stays where it is as well.

So at the end of Fall, Austrian units occupy two (2) additional supply centers (Greece and Serbia), bringing the total number of supply centers claimed by Austria to five (5). (For purposes of this example, we're assuming no one invaded Austria's home supply centers.)

During winter builds, we compare number of existing units (3) with number of SC's (5) and find that Austria is able to build 2 new units. You are able to build new units only in vacant home supply centers, which in this case are Trieste and Vienna (there's an army in Budapest).

So during winter, the Austrian player would be able to build an army in Vienna and an army or fleet in Trieste, bringing the total number of units up to five (5) to match its supply centers.


Thanks for the very detailed answer! It explained my question very well
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Demers
United States
Providence
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
“So most men teach, and few men learn.” ~Sador, The Children of Hurin
badge
“Let the unseen days be. Today is more than enough.” ~Sador, The Children of Hurin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
notquitekarpov wrote:
You control a supply centre if you (first) occupy it at the end of the turn. So if you end a Fall turn owning a supply centre and move out in a later turn you still count as owning it (until somebody else ends a Fall turn in occupation).

Add up your controlled supply centres, deduct the number of units you now have on the board and you can (but do not have to) add new units in unoccupied home supply centres.

Welcome to a great game!


Is that why it comes with flag markers? To mark your supply centers?

Also, thanks for answering my original question!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PJ Cunningham
United States
Greenfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kalmar Wingfeather wrote:
Is that why it comes with flag markers? To mark your supply centers?

Yes, you can use the flag markers to denote supply centers controlled, which removes confusion over who owns what. Just remember to switch flags only after all Fall moves have been completed (including any retreats/disbands).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Demers
United States
Providence
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
“So most men teach, and few men learn.” ~Sador, The Children of Hurin
badge
“Let the unseen days be. Today is more than enough.” ~Sador, The Children of Hurin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ironregime wrote:
Kalmar Wingfeather wrote:
Is that why it comes with flag markers? To mark your supply centers?

Yes, you can use the flag markers to denote supply centers controlled, which removes confusion over who owns what. Just remember to switch flags only after all Fall moves have been completed (including any retreats/disbands).


Right. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.