1 , 2  Next »   | 

Terra Mystica» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Beyond Basic Guide - How to Improve Further? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: strategy [+] inter [+] TM [+] [View All]
Marek
msg tools
Hi,
so about 1-2 years ago, I found the fantastic basic guide for Terra Mystica and it helped me a lot, my play improved significantly and so did my rating (going from 920s to 1120s). For some time now, however, I feel that I have been stagnating. I would like to ask the more expert players for general advice - what should my focus be, if I want to improve further? Are there any tips what to focus on, maybe leaving some of the Basic guide advices... ? I will be grateful for any insights .
Thanks in advance.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dániel Lányi
Hungary
Budapest
* -Not Applicable-
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm no pro, but here's what helped me get to where I am:

Play against TM AI until you scored 150+ points with all factions. The AI won't really contest you on majorities, so it's not that hard, but it's pretty agressive on the board. Feel free to take back moves, sometimes even to the very start of the game, and try something else, that's a good way to learn. A match against the AI can be played in 20 minutes, so this way you can get a lot of practice in with the basics and get to know the factions.

Most pros will probably tell you to just look at a lot of games on snellman, or start playing there. That's the way to the top, what I wrote above is more a way to being not bad at the game
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flo P
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am by no means an expert player, so the only thing I can think of is to point you towards more self-study materials available in the forums here and on snellman/tmtour: