Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Holdfast: Pacific 1941-45» Forums » Rules

Subject: Capture and Control of Bases rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
At the start of the turn the Central Pacific Ocean and Midway are allied control. A Japanese force including a transport unit has combat with the allied force in the Central Pacific Ocean. After the first round of combat the Japanese transport lands its marines on Midway and capture it. Additional combat rounds at sea continue in Central Pacific Ocean and ultimately the Allies retain control of the Central Pacific Ocean. What happens to the newly captured Midway? Does it stay Japanese at the end of this turn or does it revert back to the allies since the Central Pacific Ocean is allied control at the beginning and end of the turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Moorehead
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A reading of the rules-as-written and FAQ would say that since the Allies control the sea area at beginning and end of a turn, Midway is changed to Allied control. The Japanese ground unit(s) displace to the nearest friendly controlled port.

That is the price to pay for not controlling the sea area.

Denver area? (saw your CO microbadge).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen A
United States
Brooklyn
NEW YORK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gammer wrote:
What happens to the newly captured Midway? Does it stay Japanese at the end of this turn or does it revert back to the allies since the Central Pacific Ocean is allied control at the beginning and end of the turn?


I believe in VitP, Midway would revert back to Allied control, not sure about HP?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.