Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Bios: Genesis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Autocatalytic Roll - compensation question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carrots
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm a bit confused about what colour catalyst players recieve when removing a biont following the roll of a dath dice in the autocatalytic roll phase.

Top of page 27 under Manna Death section says "you choose which color"

In the Contested Refugia Section on page 28 it doesnt say about choosing the colour, and the example overleaf seems to suggest the compensation catalyst should be the same colour as the biont.

So am I reading right that the player only chooses the colour catalyst if the death dice occured on an refugia that isn't contested?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you are not reading that right.

Rules, Page 7:

"• Compensation Biosynthesis. Whenever one of your Bionts is returned to your pool as a result of Manna death (F2), biont cull (E2), Atrophy, or Extinction, add one Catalyst of your color to your pool as compensation."

Rules, Page 27:

"• Manna death. For each Manna death, you must remove one Manna from the organized field. Cubes slide down to the disorganized field, while Bionts are returned to your tableau pool with compensation (B4). You choose which color."

When it says "choose which color" it is referring to choosing which color of manna to remove from the organized field, not to choosing what catalyst you receive in compensation for a returned biont.

Returned biont's that give compensation always give that as a catalyst of the color matching the biont.

In summary, if a biont is removed due to manna death, the player receives a catalyst of the same color as the biont. If manna is being moved from organized to disorganized because of manna death, you choose which color of manna to disorganize.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grossman
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
reverendunclebastard wrote:
No, you are not reading that right.

Rules, Page 7:

"• Compensation Biosynthesis. Whenever one of your Bionts is returned to your pool as a result of Manna death (F2), biont cull (E2), Atrophy, or Extinction, add one Catalyst of your color to your pool as compensation."

Rules, Page 27:

"• Manna death. For each Manna death, you must remove one Manna from the organized field. Cubes slide down to the disorganized field, while Bionts are returned to your tableau pool with compensation (B4). You choose which color."

When it says "choose which color" it is referring to choosing which color of manna to remove from the organized field, not to choosing what catalyst you receive in compensation for a returned biont.

Returned biont's that give compensation always give that as a catalyst of the color matching the biont.

In summary, if a biont is removed due to manna death, the player receives a catalyst of the same color as the biont. If manna is being moved from organized to disorganized because of manna death, you choose which color of manna to disorganize.


Just as an add-on to that, you receive a catalyst in compensation based on the colour of manna that you chose to disorganize.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carrots
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thank you everyone for helping me clarify this rule - very much appreciated.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.