Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Battle for Rokugan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tied attackers in empty province rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
peter natividad
msg tools
For confirmation:
If two attackers are tied attacking an empty province, what happens?

I'm thinking neither wins and the province remains uncontrolled.

Will that scenario also trigger a successful defense?

I'm leaning against it triggering a successful defense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Resolving Battles section of the rules explains this clearly:
"The player with the highest total wins the battle. If there is a tie
for the highest total, the defender wins the battle.
If an empty province is attacked, there is no defender; the
attacker compares their total strength against any defense
bonuses present in the province. When an empty province
is attacked, if the attacker does not win the battle, nothing
happens. "

How can it trigger a successful defense if it wasn't controlled?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
peter natividad
msg tools
It's because of the rule that states "If an attack against a province fails for any reason, that province is also treated as being successfully defended". I know it sounds unusual based on the scenario but that was how it was worded.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, fair enough.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.