Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Ligny 1815: Last Eagles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Melee stacking & combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anthony Giorgini
Australia
South Australia
flag msg tools
I require some clarification regarding the stacking and combat rule amendment as per last rulebook issue (section 8).

Rule now states that no more than 20 size points can be counted for the defender in a non-clear hex. In regard to the attacker, I take it no more than 20 size points may also be counted for attackers assaulting a non-clear hex, regardless of number of attacking stacks participating in the melee. Do I have this correct?

If this is correct, is the melee example provided on page 16 incorrect as the French assaulting a non-clear hex have counted 30 size points.

Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ellis
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, that the way I interpret and play it; 20 max per hex in non clear for both attacker and defender.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodger Samuel
United States
Beaver Falls
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The example is correct.

The limit of 20 size points is per hex. Consequently, the defending hex cannot count more than 20 size points, but, as the attack is coming from three different hexes, it could theoretically include up to 60 size points.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Giorgini
Australia
South Australia
flag msg tools
OK, so I have it correct, attackers allowed no more than 20 size points per stack when attacking into non-clear hex. If the attacker is assaulting from a non-clear hex is of no consequence.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Willner
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I may be reading your post wrong but to clarify: a stack attacking *from* non-clear terrain is limited to 20 SP.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Giorgini
Australia
South Australia
flag msg tools
OK for clarity;

a) Attacker in a non-clear hex into a non-clear hex = max 20 points
b) Attacker in a clear hex into a non-clear hex = max 20 points
c) Attacker in a non-clear hex into a clear hex = max 20 points
d) Attacker in a clear hex into a clear hex = no max
e) Defender in a non-clear hex = max 20 points
f) Defender in a clear hex = no max

Thanks.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ellis
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not to split hairs, but remember that there is a 30 point max even in clear :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Giorgini
Australia
South Australia
flag msg tools
Or 2 combat units & an artillery unit which could exceed 30 points!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ellis
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Remembering that there is a distinction between the number of points that can occupy a hex and the number of points in a hex that can be used in a combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chris yates
United Kingdom
Hampshire
flag msg tools
I think C is wrong. No 20 max limit.

For the attacker it is the hex attacked into not from (see page 7).

Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Norman Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chris you are right.

The text in section 8 does not concern itself with non-clear terrain of the attacker (except for firing artillery).

There is a very good example of all of this on page 13 of the Ligny Scenario Book.

Non Clear terrain in the attackers hex only becomes relevant if it is firing artillery, in which case it can not fire in excess of 3 size points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.