Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Pax Emancipation» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick Ops question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Thatcher
United States
Lake Forest
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just a quick question regarding the Ops Phase.

If I have multiple syndications on a card in the Market, can I use the same Op twice with the two difference syndications?

For example, Card 69 (Bengali Resistance) has 3 Ops: Suffrage, Literacy and Westernize. If I have 3 syndications on the card, can I do 3 Suffrage actions? Or can I only take each Ops action once?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Gastonguay
United States
Pottstown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Act Three! Everybody Dies!
Avatar
mb
After you do the op, you cover up the op using the agent, so it's not available to do anymore, so I would say you can't do it again.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CthulhuKid wrote:
After you do the op, you cover up the op using the agent, so it's not available to do anymore, so I would say you can't do it again.


This is correct. Unless trying to stuff a firebrand for the lead in on a revolution it generally pays to diversify over specialize.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Thatcher
United States
Lake Forest
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is what I thought.

Thank you both for your responses!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafał Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kevin Lee Thatcher wrote:
Just a quick question regarding the Ops Phase.

If I have multiple syndications on a card in the Market, can I use the same Op twice with the two difference syndications?

For example, Card 69 (Bengali Resistance) has 3 Ops: Suffrage, Literacy and Westernize. If I have 3 syndications on the card, can I do 3 Suffrage actions? Or can I only take each Ops action once?

Thanks!


CthulhuKid wrote:
After you do the op, you cover up the op using the agent, so it's not available to do anymore, so I would say you can't do it again.

You can repeat.
There is ambivalent "it" when this rule is first mentioned in section D
" You may perform one Op per Syndication or Revolutionary Agent. After you have performed an Op, move its Agent to cover the ops icon on the card to show that it is expended. "
But in second instance whe it is mentioned It is clear that, Agent is expended not icon.

"G. OPS PHASE
Perform up to as many Ops as you have Syndications. Each Agent can be used for only one of the Ops listed on the card. After you have used a Syndication to activate an Op, move the token to cover that Op’s icon, to show that Agent is expended towards your Ops this turn.
"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rafal100 wrote:
Kevin Lee Thatcher wrote:
Just a quick question regarding the Ops Phase.

If I have multiple syndications on a card in the Market, can I use the same Op twice with the two difference syndications?

For example, Card 69 (Bengali Resistance) has 3 Ops: Suffrage, Literacy and Westernize. If I have 3 syndications on the card, can I do 3 Suffrage actions? Or can I only take each Ops action once?

Thanks!


CthulhuKid wrote:
After you do the op, you cover up the op using the agent, so it's not available to do anymore, so I would say you can't do it again.

You can repeat.
There is ambivalent "it" when this rule is first mentioned in section D
" You may perform one Op per Syndication or Revolutionary Agent. After you have performed an Op, move its Agent to cover the ops icon on the card to show that it is expended. "
But in second instance whe it is mentioned It is clear that, Agent is expended not icon.

"G. OPS PHASE
Perform up to as many Ops as you have Syndications. Each Agent can be used for only one of the Ops listed on the card. After you have used a Syndication to activate an Op, move the token to cover that Op’s icon, to show that Agent is expended towards your Ops this turn.
"


The OP icon is covered and so no longer a valid choice for further OPs by thst player that turn. It looks like one of us was playtesting wrong, wonder which it was! Probably me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafał Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shadrach wrote:
Unless trying to stuff a firebrand for the lead in on a revolution it generally pays to diversify over specialize.

Specialisation is enforced mainly by "Agent squared" part of the cost of Sindication and Join Revolution actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafał Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shadrach wrote:
rafal100 wrote:
Kevin Lee Thatcher wrote:
Just a quick question regarding the Ops Phase.

If I have multiple syndications on a card in the Market, can I use the same Op twice with the two difference syndications?

For example, Card 69 (Bengali Resistance) has 3 Ops: Suffrage, Literacy and Westernize. If I have 3 syndications on the card, can I do 3 Suffrage actions? Or can I only take each Ops action once?

Thanks!


CthulhuKid wrote:
After you do the op, you cover up the op using the agent, so it's not available to do anymore, so I would say you can't do it again.

You can repeat.
There is ambivalent "it" when this rule is first mentioned in section D
" You may perform one Op per Syndication or Revolutionary Agent. After you have performed an Op, move its Agent to cover the ops icon on the card to show that it is expended. "
But in second instance whe it is mentioned It is clear that, Agent is expended not icon.

"G. OPS PHASE
Perform up to as many Ops as you have Syndications. Each Agent can be used for only one of the Ops listed on the card. After you have used a Syndication to activate an Op, move the token to cover that Op’s icon, to show that Agent is expended towards your Ops this turn.
"


The OP icon is covered and so no longer a valid choice for further OPs by thst player that turn. It looks like one of us was playtesting wrong, wonder which it was! Probably me.

This is example how repeating some rules in ALMOST exact form lead to ambuguity.
Phil Eklund asked opinion in what form to write introduction.
https://bgg.cc/thread/1826776/need-opinions-what-introductio...
Need opinions on what an Introduction to a game should include. Choose A, B, C, D, or E.

Maybe writing about covering icons in itroduction was unnesary and

" You may perform one Op per Syndication or Revolutionary Agent. After you have performed an Op, move its Agent to cover the ops icon on the card to show that it is expended. " would be sufficient for introduction...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rafal100 wrote:
Shadrach wrote:
rafal100 wrote:
Kevin Lee Thatcher wrote:
Just a quick question regarding the Ops Phase.

If I have multiple syndications on a card in the Market, can I use the same Op twice with the two difference syndications?

For example, Card 69 (Bengali Resistance) has 3 Ops: Suffrage, Literacy and Westernize. If I have 3 syndications on the card, can I do 3 Suffrage actions? Or can I only take each Ops action once?

Thanks!


CthulhuKid wrote:
After you do the op, you cover up the op using the agent, so it's not available to do anymore, so I would say you can't do it again.

You can repeat.
There is ambivalent "it" when this rule is first mentioned in section D
" You may perform one Op per Syndication or Revolutionary Agent. After you have performed an Op, move its Agent to cover the ops icon on the card to show that it is expended. "
But in second instance whe it is mentioned It is clear that, Agent is expended not icon.

"G. OPS PHASE
Perform up to as many Ops as you have Syndications. Each Agent can be used for only one of the Ops listed on the card. After you have used a Syndication to activate an Op, move the token to cover that Op’s icon, to show that Agent is expended towards your Ops this turn.
"


The OP icon is covered and so no longer a valid choice for further OPs by thst player that turn. It looks like one of us was playtesting wrong, wonder which it was! Probably me.

This is example how repeating some rules in ALMOST exact form lead to ambuguity.
Phil Eklund asked opinion in what form to write introduction.
https://bgg.cc/thread/1826776/need-opinions-what-introductio...
Need opinions on what an Introduction to a game should include. Choose A, B, C, D, or E.

Maybe writing about covering icons in itroduction was unnesary and

" You may perform one Op per Syndication or Revolutionary Agent. After you have performed an Op, move its Agent to cover the ops icon on the card to show that it is expended. " would be sufficient for introduction...


Good to know. I threw another suggestion into the google doc, change it to 'move its agent to the ops section of the card to show it is expended' deemphisizing the icon/agent interaction as meaningful so much as expended/expended
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Thatcher
United States
Lake Forest
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Interesting discussion; it is exactly for the reasons mentioned here that I asked the question.

So it appears as if the consensus now is that one can use the same Ops icon multiple times, correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kevin Lee Thatcher wrote:
Interesting discussion; it is exactly for the reasons mentioned here that I asked the question.

So it appears as if the consensus now is that one can use the same Ops icon multiple times, correct?


Aye, I believe Rafel worked with Phil more directly than I did so I would take his word.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.