Paul Lawrence
United Kingdom
Darlington
County Durham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi there, played through the first scenario in campaign mode last night, absolutely brilliant, although it did raise a few questions about healing.

1) Can Allies use the Recover action (specifically Damsel In Distress in the scenario)?
2) Does the Samaritan allow healing of Allies? (we assumed it does)
3) Does the Healing Wave allow healing of Allies? (we assumed it does)
4) Does the Healing Wave pass through walls? (we assumed it does)
5) Can an ally perform a Revive action on anyone? (we were never in this situation, but did wonder), which leads to...
6) Can an ally perform any Gentleman actions?

Enhanced Suit
7) Is the 3 Health is 'added' to the left hand health column for determining the threshold value for receiving a Torment card? (we assumed it does)
8) Can the 3 Health be healed through Recover, Revive, Samararitan etc etc ? (we assumed it can)

As you can see, we made a lot of assumptions, love the game though, and thanks in advance for your help
Cheers
Paul
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mark
Singapore
flag msg tools
mb
Rulebook page 16

1. No. Recover is a self only action. Meaning they can only use this action on themselves.

Enhanced suit.
5. No. It's a separate health from the ones on the gentlemen dashboard. You deal damage to these first before the left health box.
6. No.
Treat the health on these items like temporary health. Or the health of the actual items. Once the items receive damage up to its capacity, it's considered "destroyed". Health on the gents' dashboard are their actual health. Damage dealt to these make the gents bleed. And bleeding can be healed. It's not wise to repair items while you're in the heat of battle.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Evilbob wrote:
Hi there, played through the first scenario in campaign mode last night, absolutely brilliant, although it did raise a few questions about healing.

1) Can Allies use the Recover action (specifically Damsel In Distress in the scenario)?


Recover is a Gentlemen only action. Allies, minions and agents cannot do this unless specifically allowed to by a card effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Evilbob wrote:

5) Can an ally perform a Revive action on anyone? (we were never in this situation, but did wonder), which leads to...
6) Can an ally perform any Gentleman actions?


Revive is also a Gentlemen action.

Only Gentlemen can perform Gentlemen actions.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trent Y.
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DarthCow wrote:


Enhanced suit.
5. No. It's a separate health from the ones on the gentlemen dashboard. You deal damage to these first before the left health box.
6. No.
Treat the health on these items like temporary health. Or the health of the actual items. Once the items receive damage up to its capacity, it's considered "destroyed". Health on the gents' dashboard are their actual health. Damage dealt to these make the gents bleed. And bleeding can be healed. It's not wise to repair items while you're in the heat of battle.


I'm not 100% sure what "enhanced suit" refers to, but typically extra damage boxes from equipment can be healed. It is treated just like heal boxes printed on the character sheet. (At least, this is the interpretation thaanymothers have concluded. I don't have the rule book in front of me).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Darlington
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sarimrune wrote:
typically extra damage boxes from equipment can be healed. It is treated just like heal boxes printed on the character sheet.

I agree. Extra health from roles or upgrades isn't "special health", it's just an increase to your maximum health. Heal it and restore it exactly as though it was part of your basic, printed health value.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Lawrence
United Kingdom
Darlington
County Durham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sarimrune wrote:
I'm not 100% sure what "enhanced suit" refers to, but typically extra damage boxes from equipment can be healed. It is treated just like heal boxes printed on the character sheet. (At least, this is the interpretation thaanymothers have concluded. I don't have the rule book in front of me).
Hi, it's a Mechamancer upgrade card, it has 3 Health and the Evasion Skill
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Darlington
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Evilbob wrote:
Hi there, played through the first scenario in campaign mode last night, absolutely brilliant, although it did raise a few questions about healing.

1) Can Allies use the Recover action (specifically Damsel In Distress in the scenario)?
2) Does the Samaritan allow healing of Allies? (we assumed it does)
3) Does the Healing Wave allow healing of Allies? (we assumed it does)
4) Does the Healing Wave pass through walls? (we assumed it does)
5) Can an ally perform a Revive action on anyone? (we were never in this situation, but did wonder), which leads to...
6) Can an ally perform any Gentleman actions?

Enhanced Suit
7) Is the 3 Health is 'added' to the left hand health column for determining the threshold value for receiving a Torment card? (we assumed it does)
8) Can the 3 Health be healed through Recover, Revive, Samararitan etc etc ? (we assumed it can)


Now that I have access to my copy of the game...

1. No. See the rules, page 16; the Recover action is marked as GENTLEMEN ONLY. They really do mean "Gentlemen", not "Gentlemen and Allies".

2. No. The Samaritan card reads "Revive or make a Recover action with a Gentleman in line of sight...". Allies are not Gentlemen.

3. No. Healing Wave reads "All Gentlemen in Short Range immediately heal up to 2 damage." Allies are not Gentlemen.

4. Yes, since it says "Short Range" and does not also require Line of Sight. But you are free to play this differently if you prefer. (We ruled that Possession requires Line of Sight, but the card does not say so.)

5. No. On page 16, Revive is markes as GENTLEMEN ONLY. Allies are not Gentlemen.

6. No, and this is really the fundamental question that accounts for most of the above. But that said, consult the FAQ for any exceptions that might crop up in the future. But in the absence of guidance from the FAQ, treat Gentlemen and Allies as entirely separate categories of figure.

7. Yes, bonus health from items/upgrades/roles is effectively an addition to your initial health value; it is always removed first, and will help to stave off Torment. See the Rules page 22:

rules p. 22 wrote:
Some Upgrades and Equipment may grant a Gentleman additional Bonus Health Boxes. Damage is always applied to these bonus Health Boxes before being applied to their normal Health Boxes, thus making it harder for a Gentleman to suffer the effects of Torment cards.


8. Yes, bonus health granted by items/upgrades/roles is just like the printed health value on the Gentleman's card; it can be healed, Recovered, and is fully restored after Revive.

The Rules on page 9 make it clear that benefits bestowed by cards are permanent:

rules p. 9 (emphasis added) wrote:
Upgrade and Role cards: ... Note that sometimes a card will have no cost. It will merely have a permanent boost to the Gentleman!


Also note that the effect of Revive is never described as medical "healing", but rather just the removal of all damage tokens:

rules p. 22 (emphasis added) wrote:
Gentlemen are too stubborn to permanently die, pushing onward until they are victorious (or the Nemesis completes their nefarious goals). When a Gentleman is Neutralized, place their figure on its side. On that Gentleman’s next activation, they will automatically Revive, removing all Damage tokens and standing their figure up.


When you remove all damage tokens, this includes those on items and upgrades; thus freeing up the card and putting it back into effect.

There's no rules justification for treating bonus health differently from the health printed on the Gentleman's card. Of course, you are free to role-play it differently if you like.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Garrod
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
We had some confusion of Samaritan due to the way it was written. We had two interpretations:

1. That the Recover portion of it made it a heal on others, not just yourself. And they would gain an additional ether. The revive function would still target another gentleman, but would give 1 ether (rather than the zero ether they normally revive with)


2. That the recover portion of it was still restricted to self only, and the targeted gentleman just gains 1 ether back. Revive stays as it was (targeted) and like #1 above, the target gains 1 ether
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Lawrence
United Kingdom
Darlington
County Durham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Many thanks for the clarifications guys, much appreciated! We are continuing the first chapter over the next two nights :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.