Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster Focus... yet again rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ody Gian
msg tools
I'm trully terribly sorry for making such a thread. I did my exercises, did the tests but when the situation arise in game i'm still somewhat lost of what to do...


How should the Hound react in the pictured situation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
atog n
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
First pick a hex the Hound can attack on.

a) Mind thief = 2 moves.
b) scoundrel = 4 moves.(all the way past archer and next to it.

Mind thief wins.

then no further tie breaker needed.

trap is the only route so it will go thru trap.

EDIT: I have a hunch that what troubles you is the proximity. That is the first tie breaker and only comes in effect when "Distant to the hex it attacks from" is tied.

I am 90% sure. Please correct me if I am wrong.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
atog wrote:
First pick a hex the Hound can attack on.

a) Mind thief = 2 moves.
b) scoundrel = 4 moves.(all the way past archer and next to it.

Mind thief wins.

then no further tie breaker needed.

trap is the only route so it will go thru trap.

I have a hunch that what troubles you is the proximity. That is the first tie breaker and only comes when "Distant to the hex it attack from" is tied.

I am 90% sure. Please correct me if I am wrong.


Correct except one thing. It would take a Move 5 to get next to the Scoundrel.

The Hound will Move 2 adjacent to the Mindthief, attacking her. It will move through the trap in this case, because there is no way to move to attack anybody except by going through the trap.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
atog n
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I am so so sorry. Can't count. Thanks for the correction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Janicek
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also note that because the Hound would get plus two to its attack if it went for the scoundrel (because the scoundrel is adjacent to one of the hounds allies), it still wouldn't focus on the scoundrel. It's just not an option because shortest-path-distance-to-focus trumps all that secondary stuff in this case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.