Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The City of Kings» Forums » General

Subject: So did we play this wrong? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Hello, I think we confused the monster attack process, because how we played, seems different when compared to how Rolling Solo demonstrated it in his video.


In his video:
1. Monster was summoned on Bird players turn when exploring a Tile.
2. Monster set up but did not activate right away.
3. With Bird players last action, he attacked the monster.
-
4. Out of actions for Bird, so he started Rock mans turn: Starting with his 4 actions.
5. Rock man attacked with an action and killed the monster before its first activation.


This is an example of how we played:

1. Monster was summoned on player 1’s turn when exploring a Tile.
2. Monster set up but did not activate right away.
3. With players 1’s last action, he attacked the currently dormant monster.
-
4. Player 2’s turn: Resolve Impairments, then activate the monster player 1 summoned
5. Monster does all attacks.
6. Player 2 Does his actions.

---Then repeat 4-6 for player one and then again for player 2 (after story resolve and time tracker) until the monster is dead. It feels like we were activating the monster twice as much as we needed to when compared to rolling solo since we activated it for both our turns everytime? Thanks for any help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Chick
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
fubarbox wrote:


1. Monster was summoned on player 1’s turn when exploring a Tile.
2. Monster set up but did not activate right away.
3. With players 1’s last action, he attacked the currently dormant monster.
4. Player 2’s turn: Resolve Impairments, then activate the monster player 1 summoned
5. Monster does all attacks.

6. Player 2 Does his actions.


What you've described in steps 4 and 5 isn't supposed to happen.

You only activate any given monster on one of the player's turns. A monster is associated with the player who sets it up on his or her turn. It only activates before that player's turn.

-Tom
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like we mad it harder than we needed to. Thank you. Franks how to play was great, but I either need to pay more attention or give the rulebook a quick once over to try and uncover any more details we missed. Thank you for the help!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Corbally
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You certainly did make it harder on yourself...hehe...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Pearson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As others have said a creature only activates on the players turn who summoned it.

Also an important thing to note. Creatures spawned by the story do not activate on the turn they are summoned, so they will not turn up and potentially one shot you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.