Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

18USA» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rural Junction Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark G.
United States
Holland
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the placement of the Rural Junction meant to be part of the owning company's normal track lay, subject to the normal restrictions?

In particular . . .

1) Does the owning company need to be able to trace a route to the Rural Junction? Can it be placed in any empty city, even if not connected to a legal route of the owning company?

2) Is placing the Rural Junction tile an extra track lay, or is it considered one of the owning company's normal track actions.

(My assumption is that the Rural Junction must be placed in the owning company's network and uses one of the company's normal track lays, but this is not clear from the rules.)

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Fox
United States
Richardson
Texas
flag msg tools
Question everything
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your assumptions are correct. If it was a free extra tile lay the rules would have said it was a free extra tile lay. The requirement that the track has to be connected is already specifically covered in section 1.2.4:

Section 1.2.4 Private Companies wrote:
A company must be able to trace a legal route to the location being affected by any private company which modifies track, adds tokens, or has some other effect on a specific location on the game board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark G.
United States
Holland
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sfox wrote:
Your assumptions are correct. If it was a free extra tile lay the rules would have said it was a free extra tile lay. The requirement that the track has to be connected is already specifically covered in section 1.2.4:

Section 1.2.4 Private Companies wrote:
A company must be able to trace a legal route to the location being affected by any private company which modifies track, adds tokens, or has some other effect on a specific location on the game board.


Shawn -

Thanks for the quick reply! We are enjoying the game up here in western Michigan!

-Mark
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.