Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Limitations of a pinned enemy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Senn
United States
Fort Lauderdale
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I had an enemy HMG (automatic fire) in one card and enemy squad (small arms) in another card firing into the same card as a US unit.

This means that the US unit was under automatic fire and also cross fire.

If the enemy HMG becomes pinned, does the VOF change? Seems like if you pin a MG, it naturally shouldn't be firing that well and contributing the same as if was not pinned.

Also, I was wondering what limitations do a pinned enemy face?
I know they cant attempt to throw a grenade back, during a grenade assault. But do they suffer any other limitations?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Knott
United States
Blacksburg
VA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Previously you have an A-VOF and an S-VOF. The A-VOF supersedes with a -1 vs 0.

Now the HMG is pinned so it provides and +2 All pinned VOF. So the S-VOF at 0 now supersedes... Your unit is under a S-VOF.

All pinned units do enemy action checks from the Pinned/LAT table. They are more likely to fall back and will not lob grenades.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth Lury
United States
Blowing rock
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
can't the pinned HMG qualify for crossfire ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Knott
United States
Blacksburg
VA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
radsailor wrote:
can't the pinned HMG qualify for crossfire ?


Yep, since they are on different cards, that would create a crossfire in addition.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Senn
United States
Fort Lauderdale
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Javaslinger wrote:
Previously you have an A-VOF and an S-VOF. The A-VOF supersedes with a -1 vs 0.

Now the HMG is pinned so it provides and +2 All pinned VOF. So the S-VOF at 0 now supersedes... Your unit is under a S-VOF.

All pinned units do enemy action checks from the Pinned/LAT table. They are more likely to fall back and will not lob grenades.


Thank you. This logic makes sense.

But I remembering reading that all pin markers are only placed when a card is receiving <keyword> fire from all pinned. So wouldn't one pinned and one non pinned not equal a "all pinned" marker being a factor? Hence it would still be automatic vof? 6.2.1
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Knott
United States
Blacksburg
VA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grove123 wrote:
[q="Javaslinger"]
But I remembering reading that all pin markers are only placed when a card is receiving <keyword> fire from all pinned. So wouldn't one pinned and one non pinned not equal a "all pinned" marker being a factor? Hence it would still be automatic vof? 6.2.1


The HMG is pinned so it no longer exerts a A-VOF.

If both units firing into your card you would indeed be under an All Pinned VOF, but the Squad is not so you're under the S-VOF.

6.3.2.B
Place a Pinned marker on the unit. For efficiency you may stack
multiple units beneath a single Pinned marker instead of a marker.
A Pinned marker is removed when:
• A unit successfully passes an Attempt to Remove a Pinned
marker order,
• It receives a MISS result following an attack,
• No enemy VOF is on the card at the beginning of the Combat
Effects Segment, or
• The unit is eliminated.
A Pinned unit generates an All Pinned VOF. If all units firing into
a card are Pinned, place an All Pinned VOF on the targeted card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.