Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Great War Commander» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bundle of questions Scenarios 7 to 16. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Since I'm on holiday soon, I've looked ahead for potential problems in scenarios I haven't played to assist the errata process:

Scenario 7 SSR2. Presumably this should refer to 'SR1', since there is no SR3.

Scenario 8 SSR3: If a hex/Formation is adjacent to two of these hexes, is it Degraded/broken twice?

Scenario 8 SSR4: If the French get a new Telephone, can they do what they like with it?

Scenario 9 SSR2: If a hex is adjacent to two of these hexes, is it Degraded twice?

Scenario 10 SSR5: If the US/Germans get a new Telephone, can they do what they like with it?

Scenario 11 SSR2: Technically there are no rules for placing Foxholes as a reinforcement.

Scenario 12 SSR3: If the Germans get a new Telephone, can they do what they like with it?

Scenario 12 SSR7: If the Germans lose the Initiative Card, who controls it?

Scenario 12 cards: If the German plays Drachen, does he choose one enemy player to be affected by it? If an Allied player gets High Command Meddling, does that player have to execute the Order first? Better hope they don't BOTH get it at the same time. For things such as 'Intelligence', does it affect one enmy player or both?

Scenario 13 SSR2: If the French Gun is destroyed, does it go to countermix rather than the Casualty Track? Or can it only be Scrounged by a Team?

Scenario 14 SSR3: I think this should say 'Only the American player may gain VOLUNTARY Exit Victory Points.....'.

Scenario 15 SSR4: If the French Gun is destroyed, does it go to countermix rather than the Casualty Track? Or can it only be Scrounged by a Team?

Scenario 16 SSR3: Presumably this refers to the printed reinforcements, not any the player may receive from the Support Table or returning Exited units.

Scenario 16 SSR7: I think this should say 'The German player may not gain VOLUNTARY Exit VPs for non-Runner Formations'.
3 
 Thumb up
1.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think my head's going to explode gulp !
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pascal TOUPY
France
talence
Aquitaine
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
beresford wrote:

Scenario 7 SSR2. Presumably this should refer to 'SR1', since there is no SR3.


yes of course

beresford wrote:

Scenario 8 SSR3: If a hex/Formation is adjacent to two of these hexes, is it Degraded/broken twice?


yes

beresford wrote:

Scenario 8 SSR4: If the French get a new Telephone, can they do what they like with it?


SSR4. Orders are orders: The French Telephone will remain in the Creeping/Standing Barrage space for the full length of the game

beresford wrote:

Scenario 9 SSR2: If a hex is adjacent to two of these hexes, is it Degraded twice?


yes

beresford wrote:

Scenario 10 SSR5: If the US/Germans get a new Telephone, can they do what they like with it?


SSR5. barrages: The US and German Telephones will remain in the
Creeping/Standing Barrage or Gas box all game long,


beresford wrote:

Scenario 11 SSR2: Technically there are no rules for placing Foxholes as a reinforcement.


as you say, technically not! The Combat Commander rulebook will need an update too!
clarification: 6.1.2 5) If there are one or more Formations and/or Fortifications

beresford wrote:

Scenario 12 SSR3: If the Germans get a new Telephone, can they do what they like with it?


SSR3. Feldartillerie: The German Telephone will remain in the Standing/
Creeping Barrage Box for the full length of the game
,

beresford wrote:

Scenario 12 SSR7: If the Germans lose the Initiative Card, who controls it?


shared by the 2 players and used in a gentlemanly manner; they are allies!


beresford wrote:

1/Scenario 12 cards: If the German plays Drachen, does he choose one enemy player to be affected by it?
2/If an Allied player gets High Command Meddling, does that player have to execute the Order first? Better hope they don't BOTH get it at the same time.
3/For things such as 'Intelligence', does it affect one enmy player or both?


1/yes
2/he has to execute it as HIS next Order. SSR7:[..] They [..]exchange information about [..] the sequence of the Orders they want to play.
3/1 player, German player's choice


beresford wrote:

1/Scenario 13 SSR2: If the French Gun is destroyed, does it go to countermix rather than the Casualty Track?
2/Or can it only be Scrounged by a Team?


1/4.3: [..] Weapons are placed in the larger box marked “Weapons”, at the end of the Casualty Track.
2/ SSR2. Specialists: The 75mm gun can only be possessed by a Team.


beresford wrote:

Scenario 14 SSR3: I think this should say 'Only the American player may gain VOLUNTARY Exit Victory Points.....'.


you only gain Exit VPs by exiting voluntarily


beresford wrote:

Scenario 15 SSR4: If the French Gun is destroyed, does it go to countermix rather than the Casualty Track? Or can it only be Scrounged by a Team?


1/4.3: [..] Weapons are placed in the larger box marked “Weapons”, at the end of the Casualty Track.
2/ SSR2. Specialists: The 75mm gun can only be possessed by a Team.


beresford wrote:

Scenario 16 SSR3: Presumably this refers to the printed reinforcements, not any the player may receive from the Support Table or returning Exited units.


yes


beresford wrote:

Scenario 16 SSR7: I think this should say 'The German player may not gain VOLUNTARY Exit VPs for non-Runner Formations'.


you only gain Exit VPs by exiting voluntarily
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shouldn't these go in the errata section too?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pascal TOUPY
France
talence
Aquitaine
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MayorJim wrote:
Shouldn't these go in the errata section too?


1 errata
Scenario 7:SSR2: Opening French Barrage: After the placement of Rubble markers as per SR3 SR1 [there is no SR3]

and 1 clarification
6.1.2 5) If there are one or more Formations and/or Fortifications

both already in the errata thread
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Nichols
United States
Vacaville
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Get this stuff in a FAQ or Errata please
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John McLintock
Scotland
Glasgow
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
badge
"Roll dice and kick ass!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's in this thread. I presume Pascal's waiting until the Errata/FAQ is more complete before uploading it as a separate document.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
bonzillou wrote:


you only gain Exit VPs by exiting voluntarily


Or when your opponent exits involuntarily?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pascal TOUPY
France
talence
Aquitaine
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
beresford wrote:
bonzillou wrote:


you only gain Exit VPs by exiting voluntarily


Or when your opponent exits involuntarily?


these are VPs, not Exit VPs
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bonzillou wrote:
beresford wrote:
bonzillou wrote:


you only gain Exit VPs by exiting voluntarily


Or when your opponent exits involuntarily?


these are VPs, not Exit VPs

???....aren't points, points?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
A bit more about Scenario 12.

SSR5: Says the French player can only give two Orders per Turn, but this must apply to the Americans as well since they have an Order Limit of 2.

Can the Americans and French stack together? This would give them a lot of cards to play when defending in Melee.

Presumably the Americans can play cards from the start of the game even though they have no units, though the only thing they could do would be to assemble a pat hand or play certain Strategy cards.

When one Allied side (probably the French) have no units remaining on the map, do they keep playing things like Artillery and Air Strikes? I suppose in this case we should also consider whether they have any units on the Time track.

Can the Allies Scrounge each other's weapons?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pascal TOUPY
France
talence
Aquitaine
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
beresford wrote:
A bit more about Scenario 12.
SSR5: Says the French player can only give two Orders per Turn, but this must apply to the Americans as well since they have an Order Limit of 2.


yes

beresford wrote:
Can the Americans and French stack together? This would give them a lot of cards to play when defending in Melee.


Never

beresford wrote:
Presumably the Americans can play cards from the start of the game even though they have no units, though the only thing they could do would be to assemble a pat hand or play certain Strategy cards.


US has no troops on map at the beginning of the game: he can only play Rout and Air Assault Orders. Of course he can discard too. All this is done in respect of SSR5.

beresford wrote:
When one Allied side (probably the French) have no units remaining on the map, do they keep playing things like Artillery and Air Strikes? I suppose in this case we should also consider whether they have any units on the Time track.


yes, Rout Orders too.

beresford wrote:
Can the Allies Scrounge each other's weapons?


no.
E90. Scrounge
When this Event occurs, the receiving player may select one of their own eliminated Weapons from the Casualty Track and return that Weapon to play under the control of one of his Units currently without a Weapon.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pascal TOUPY
France
talence
Aquitaine
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bonzillou wrote:

beresford wrote:
Presumably the Americans can play cards from the start of the game even though they have no units, though the only thing they could do would be to assemble a pat hand or play certain Strategy cards.


US has no troops on map at the beginning of the game: he can only play Rout and Air Assault Orders. Of course he can discard too. All this is done in respect of SSR5.


I want to specify that: they can also play Strategy Cards (I thought that you asked only for Fate cards. red box p4: Furthermore, whenever a rule refers to a “card” without an identifier, it will always be in reference to a Fate card—never the Initiative Card or a Strategy Card (which will always be identified as such and capitalized).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.