Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The 7th Continent» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hand limit outside of action resolution phase? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bernhard Vierthaler
Austria
Salzburg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What if I get a skill card outside of the the action resolution phase (e.g. card 71)? If it is over my hand limit, do I have to discard a card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hand limits only apply at the very end of the Action Step (check your reference card).

You can have any number of cards in your hand during an action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick summary of the steps of every action, including a step 0 that is not listed in the rules, but which is important:

0: Players - Determine involved characters and active character
1: Item - Use your items
2: Cost - Calculate and draw the cards
3: Result - Reveal cards (possibly losing game) and determine success/failure
4: Skill - Draw a Skill card from the revealed cards
5: Discard - Discard the other Action Deck cards and items with no durability
6: Consequence - Apply the consequence for the appropriate result
7: Hand Size Limit - Discard if over either limit
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bernhard Vierthaler wrote:
What if I get a skill card outside of the the action resolution phase (e.g. card 71)? If it is over my hand limit, do I have to discard a card?


I don't know that card, but you should be always in an Action sequence, right? If you get a card, you normally do so because of some action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is one time that would be outside an action entirely: Following a hidden number.

That would be very rare, and yes, you probably would discard down immediately.

As for 071, it is happening during an action. Whatever put 071 into play must have been an action (you would still be resolving the Consequence step) and you discard down when that action completes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.