Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Critical Hit Resolution Confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Dean
msg tools
I'm pretty sure we've been playing this wrong (three games in) and seek clarification. If, for instance, someone has a weapon and due to game affects has four rolls, they can all be simultaneously rolled. From there, let's say three are hits. 5-5-6. The six is a critical hit (assuming target is critable). If there are two potential targets, would one either:

A) Select a target and role each damage individually and declare which one is the critical hit.

B) Roll all three dice and conveniently decide highest score is critical

C) Roll perhaps two colored dice with the critical being a separate color and then assign hits beyond this (to maximize potential grit).

Or is none of the above correct and we are still confused?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hervé Balon
Belgium
Goutroux
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Our group is playing this way:

Take each hit individually, this mean: take one of the die and assign the hit, roll for damage, then assign the second and roll for damage, etc... you then have to choose wisely which is the critical before rolling damage
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Njorl
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once you have your to hit rolls done, you assign each to a target. Then roll the damage for that hit

So in the case of one strangler and one tentacle and a 5,5, and 6 rolled
you would assign the two fives to a tentacle and the 6 to the strangler, then you would roll the damage. You cannot assign hits after the damage has been determined by a roll.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Lewis
United States
Tempe
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmb
njep wrote:
Once you have your to hit rolls done, you assign each to a target. Then roll the damage for that hit

So in the case of one strangler and one tentacle and a 5,5, and 6 rolled
you would assign the two fives to a tentacle and the 6 to the strangler, then you would roll the damage. You cannot assign hits after the damage has been determined by a roll.


^^This. The order of operations is:
1. Roll to hit.
2. Assign hits to targets.
3. Roll damage for each hit.


This is a major choice point for the system. Do you take that critical and assign it to a Void Spider for an auto-kill, or do you throw in on the Void Hound to ignore it's save? This also means there's potential for assigning more damage than needed to kill something, or a bad damage roll ending up with not enough to kill the enemy. You have to play the odds... and maybe Grit to give an extra push the right direction.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Dean
msg tools
So, if I understand correctly, there is simply no way to roll all damage at once and basically grit becomes even more important if you want to reroll a damage roll? This makes sense, thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Keep in mind that the assign and roll can be done one die at a time. You don't have to assign all the dice, then roll all the dice.

So in the case of the one strangler and one tentacle, you could assign one 5 to the tentacle and roll for damage. If that killed the tentacle, you could then assign the other 5 and the 6 to the strangler.

-shnar
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Keetlaer
Netherlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Keep in mind that the assign and roll can be done one die at a time. You don't have to assign all the dice, then roll all the dice.

So in the case of the one strangler and one tentacle, you could assign one 5 to the tentacle and roll for damage. If that killed the tentacle, you could then assign the other 5 and the 6 to the strangler.

-shnar

But in my opinion it is possible to roll all dice together, also in the given example (5, 5, 6 for one strangler and one tentacle).

As the assignmment of the dice must be done before the roll, it is possible to use 3 different dice (color, size), assign each die to a target and then roll them all together.

It is indeed a risk, but you could grit any/all of the three dice with one grit because they are rolled at the same moment.

Hope this makes sense...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adria D
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Obligatory123 wrote:
So, if I understand correctly, there is simply no way to roll all damage at once and basically grit becomes even more important if you want to reroll a damage roll? This makes sense, thank you.

You can roll all hits on a single target at the same time. If there are critical hits in there, use different colored dice for the critical hits.

A similar thing holds for dual wielding guns with different modifiers (ie one gun gets +1 damage, one gets no damage boost): use different colored dice for your shots & hits for each gun.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Lewis
United States
Tempe
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmb
Obligatory123 wrote:
So, if I understand correctly, there is simply no way to roll all damage at once and basically grit becomes even more important if you want to reroll a damage roll? This makes sense, thank you.


Shnar makes a good clarification. Per page 24 of the rulebook: "Hits may always be assigned and resolved one at a time, or in groups. It is your choice."

Your statement is mostly correct. Each target has to be a separate roll. However, you can group Hits against a single target as a single roll.

Let's use an example of seven Hits and three targets of a Tentacle, Spider, and a Harvester. For speed of game play, you can assign two blue dice = Tentacle 1, three red dice = Harvester, and two white dice = Void Spider and roll them all at once. However, this is still considered three separate rolls for game mechanics and using a Grit would only allow re-rolling the dice of one color.

However, using Shnar's point, you can take those same seven Hits and resolve each one in any order or grouping you want. You could start by rolling one die at a time against the weak enemies. Grit would only allow a re-roll of one die, but you also get to see the effect before assigning and rolling the next Hit(s). Say die one on the Spider kills it, die two on the Tentacle is blocked by Defense, and then die three on the Tentacle kills it. You can then assign the remaining four on the Harvester and resolve them as one roll. A Grit would then allow a reroll of up to four dice. Make sense?

Said another way: Against a swarm of small enemies, it can be better to roll and resolve each die one at a time to clear the maximum number of enemies. You probably won't want to waste a Grit on the small fry anyways; it would be better spent on your To-Hit roll or saved for a later turn. However, against a tough enemy with a bunch of Health, Defense, or other special Rule; it is usually better to roll all damage as one roll to maximize the benefit of Grit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Lewis
United States
Tempe
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmb
RobKeet wrote:
But in my opinion it is possible to roll all dice together, also in the given example (5, 5, 6 for one strangler and one tentacle).

As the assignmment of the dice must be done before the roll, it is possible to use 3 different dice (color, size), assign each die to a target and then roll them all together.

It is indeed a risk, but you could grit any/all of the three dice with one grit because they are rolled at the same moment.

Hope this makes sense...


Nope. Page 25 of the Rulebook, "Rolling for Damage": "These Damage rolls are made separately for each Hit (though all Damage rolls for Hits assigned to a single target may be rolled together so that the Hero may use 1 Grit to Re-roll any number of them)."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Yeah... I see what you did there.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dverning wrote:
RobKeet wrote:
But in my opinion it is possible to roll all dice together, also in the given example (5, 5, 6 for one strangler and one tentacle).

As the assignmment of the dice must be done before the roll, it is possible to use 3 different dice (color, size), assign each die to a target and then roll them all together.

It is indeed a risk, but you could grit any/all of the three dice with one grit because they are rolled at the same moment.

Hope this makes sense...


Nope. Page 25 of the Rulebook, "Rolling for Damage": "These Damage rolls are made separately for each Hit (though all Damage rolls for Hits assigned to a single target may be rolled together so that the Hero may use 1 Grit to Re-roll any number of them)."
Nice catch.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.