Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Frostgrave» Forums » Rules

Subject: Staff and Dagger? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M N
msg tools
I've been playing FG for a while now and, embarrassingly, I don't know the answer to this question. Can a Wizard (or Apprentice) have both a staff and a dagger? Thanks folks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe you can have a staff and a dagger, but only the staff OR the dagger can be wielded at any one time. I believe - going off memory. No rules at hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually:

"All wizards start with their choice of either a staff or a hand weapon, and this should be written in one item slot in their entry on the Wizard Sheet. Additionally, a wizard may buy a dagger, two-handed weapon, bow, or crossbow for 5 gold crowns (see Assembling a Warband). If a wizard is armed with both a sword and a dagger, he receives +1 Fight, which should be written as a split stat: +2/+3 for a starting wizard."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So I was correct that he can't wield both a staff and dagger at the same time. Thanks for the rules reference!

Also - there is nothing prohibiting a wizard from starting off with a free staff, and buying a sword, dagger, and bow. One of our players decided he wanted to do that our first game, and rules don't seem to prohibit it, but these do take up item slots.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M N
msg tools
Ah, yes. Thanks Rev! I read that and completely glossed over it. Probably because I wanted to wield a staff AND a dagger and was in denial.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.