Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

John Company» Forums » Rules

Subject: Edge case re: promoting to Provincial office rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bombay has a provincial Governorship that is currently filled. Madras Presidency is currently vacant.

During Hiring step, Director of Trade Chairman appoints Bombay Governor to Madras Presidency. Bombay no longer has a Governor and because we've past Bombay on the Blue Ribbon, Bombay just...doesn't have a Governor?

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aram12 wrote:
Bombay has a provincial Governorship that is currently filled. Madras Presidency is currently vacant.

During Hiring step, Director of Trade appoints Bombay Governor to Madras Presidency. Bombay no longer has a Governor and because we've past Bombay on the Blue Ribbon, Bombay just...doesn't have a Governor?

The Director of Trade only fills vacant Purchasing offices, not Executive offices. Those are filled by the Chairman.

But your question still stands as it would be the Chairman having to deal with this situation. If you take the rules at face value then, yes, Bombay doesn't have a Governor that turn. F3 says to fill vacancies in the order of their position following the blue ribbon.

And thanks for pointing out that Executive position candidates can include Governors! I hadn't realized that before.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Wehrle
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
arjisme wrote:
aram12 wrote:
Bombay has a provincial Governorship that is currently filled. Madras Presidency is currently vacant.

During Hiring step, Director of Trade appoints Bombay Governor to Madras Presidency. Bombay no longer has a Governor and because we've past Bombay on the Blue Ribbon, Bombay just...doesn't have a Governor?

The Director of Trade only fills vacant Purchasing offices, not Executive offices. Those are filled by the Chairman.

But your question still stands as it would be the Chairman having to deal with this situation. If you take the rules at face value then, yes, Bombay doesn't have a Governor that turn. F3 says to fill vacancies in the order of their position following the blue ribbon.

And thanks for pointing out that Executive position candidates can include Governors! I hadn't realized that before.


In the manner you describe, a promoted governor will mean an office is vacant during that phase. Note that vacant governorship will still generate tax revenue.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Terca
Portugal
Lisboa
flag msg tools
mb
Quote:
Note that vacant governorship will still generate tax revenue.


So, in this case, to where will the money go? To the province or to the presidency?

The rules state "Place money equal to the current tax value of their regions on each provincial office that currently exists". So I suppose that, without a governor to redirect money, it will stay in the province.

The rules also say "If a player occupies that office, he may transfer any portion of this game turn’s tax revenue to his family’s treasury or the region’s presidency immediately". So a governor in office may decide to spilt the tax money between his family, the presidency and the province as he sees fit, right?

If a province office is empty when its time for it to act (because its governor was promoted to a presidency further down the line, for instance) are its actions skipped or taken care by the respective president?

Thanks for any clarifications.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
tercix wrote:
Note that vacant governorship will still generate tax revenue.

So, in this case, to where will the money go? To the province or to the presidency?

The rules state "Place money equal to the current tax value of their regions on each provincial office that currently exists". So I suppose that, without a governor to redirect money, it will stay in the province.

Exactly. To the province. The governorship (provincial office) is generating tax money, not the presidency.


Quote:
The rules also say "If a player occupies that office, he may transfer any portion of this game turn’s tax revenue to his family’s treasury or the region’s presidency immediately". So a governor in office may decide to spilt the tax money between his family, the presidency and the province as he sees fit, right?

Correct.

Quote:
If a province office is empty when its time for it to act (because its governor was promoted to a presidency further down the line, for instance) are its actions skipped or taken care by the respective president?

Empty positions can't take actions. If the provincial office is empty, there is no transfer of funds possible and no actions.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.