Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

No Retreat! The North African Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Irreplaceable units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Lee
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am playing the campaign game right now, and we're in the early stages. I had a couple of Italian units with the Irreplaceable unit dot get bypassed as they sat on a box in low supply.

As the turn ended, they got sent to the surrendered box, as per the rules regarding unit removal at the end of a round.

The rules are a bit vague in this instance, saying that a unit can be potentially resurrected by event even if it has the Irreplaceable unit dot.

Are those units out of the game, or do they sit in the surrendered unit box, awaiting a nice event to bring them back?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes they sit in the Surrendered units box.

[8.2.3] Irreplaceable Unit: A unit with a black Irreplaceable unit dot (.) next to its unit type symbol cannot be Built Up with SPs in this manner.

So you cannot bring them back to play by paying supplies points for them to come back.

You can only get them back by other ways.


For example, by advanced rule 8.3:

2. Each Turn one of those German units was supposed to come in as
reinforcements, you get instead, for each of these, one Italian
irreplaceable (black-dot; 8.2.2) unit that had been permanently
removed from the game previously.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Razler
msg tools
But they wouldn't go to the Surrendered box. [8.2.3] says "black-dotted units are also placed in the Surrendered Units box when they are Shattered by a combat result"

If they were simply Low Supply, removal is not a combat result.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.