Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Combat Infantry» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bunker deployment and foxholes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giulio
Italy
Scandiano
RE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules do not (seem to) specify any restriction on the deployment of the bunker. In particular, it seems possible to deploy the bunker in a village hex. In this way, it would acquire a D2 defense status making it an even more difficult target for OB artillery and planes. The same happens if a unit builds a foxhole in the bunker hex. I'm wondering if the idea that the bunker can be somehow protected by a D2 status is in fact intended. The idea that foxholes protect the bunker sounds a bit awkward. What do you think?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Senn
United States
Fort Lauderdale
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I remember seeing a youtube play through by CounterProductive. Foxhole and bunker seem to to be governed by a "Clear Hex" wording

Plus I believe he mentions the Mission 1 question you posted in another topic.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giulio
Italy
Scandiano
RE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grove123 wrote:
Foxhole and bunker seem to to be governed by a "Clear Hex" wording


Foxholes are. I can't find anything restricting bunker placemente in the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Aw, crap; gonna be sore in the morning...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are no bunker placement restrictions mentioned in the rules as written.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Aw, crap; gonna be sore in the morning...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 8, foxholes says: ALL units defending a foxhole hex have D2 against fire or Bombardment.

Because the rules as written apply the foxhole modifier to the hex (as opposed to merely the actual foxholes themselves within a hex), I am inclined to think this means that a bunker in a foxhole hex would have double defense applied following the appropriate armor class modifier for the corresponding attack situation (i.e. full armor class for fire attacks, zero AC for assaults, half AC for bombardments).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Aw, crap; gonna be sore in the morning...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ provides this information (underlined portion):

Q4: Where do Battalion and Company weapons setup? The rules
aren't clear.
A: Battalion and company weapons can be commanded by a CHQ
(anywhere in play) or with an adjacent PHQ. Subject to scenario
instructions, deploy units as you wish so they can be efficiently
commanded. Generally, any company or battalion weapons you
want under platoon command need to be deployed adjacent to
the PHQ, keeping in mind only one of them can be commanded
each PHQ activation. With the CHQ there is no command range,
but a limit of three such weapons per activation.


Also, the Terrain Effects Chart identifies hexes as having double defense; so footnote number 2, TEC, pg.12 should be applicable.

I read this as meaning a bunker in a Town/Farm hex may be assaulted with zero AC, but also has double defense (per the bunker information on pg.3 combined with the TEC footnote #2 and FAQ question #4).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.