Vietnam 1965-1975» Forums » General

Subject: Release of the Vassal Module Version 4.3.1 of Vietnam 1965-1975 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Claudio Ciardelli
France
flag msg tools
Hello,
My name is Claudio. I have been playing Vietnam since mid 2017 against Curt (Raindem). Playing against him has been frustrating because of the skill/experience gap between us, but also very motivating. Thank you again Curt for your AAR of our campaign.

Also, discussing with Curt about the defects of the module, has encouraged me to first explore the module's mechanics and to later attempt to fix them.
We also discussed possible improvements that would free up the game from some tedious manual activities. Some of these improvements are now available in the module I am publishing.

Because of the large number of fixes + a major rewrite of the Province Pacification roll mechanics, I have decided to number the latest module as 4.3.1.

Here is a summary of the fixes and improvements:
- Several counter corrections, most notably the VC HQs artillery strength
- Added a 'Blank Counter' to the Record Keeping markers, very useful to take notes
- Added special Ranger Markers, different from the ones in the counter tray. These can be placed on any FWA unit by right clicking (just as when you set to active). These Ranger markers are removed from the map when you press the End Operation button.
- The normal Ranger units are also returned to their box when End Operation is pressed. This action existed already but has a bug.
- The activated Naval units are moved to the unavailable box after End Operation is pressed. This action existed already but has a bug.
- Pressing End Operation will also return the Available Air to 0 on the counters track.
- Pressing the End Operation will Hide (mask) all visible VC Units on the map. The same can be done at any time with CTRL ALT X