Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Blood in the Fog» Forums » Rules

Subject: Charging units attacked by defending artillery retreat? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Asimakis
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played our first game today and had a blast!

We had only one rules question arising from the play.

My opponent charged on his turn at one of my artillery units.
I opened fire as required to by the rules and got a (D) result.
I argued that the charging unit should retreat (it was adjacent to my artillery) and that the charging unit should make a rout check.

He argued that he should take the hits only and continue the charge combat because the rules say one "can't back down" from the charge even if the odds have become disadvantageous.

Who was correct?

[For the record the Russians won after about 8-10 game turns.
The Fog counter was on the second space of the fog track (Visibility 2, Phases 9), having moved only once, and there were only 2 Rout markers in the Morale cup which my opponent friend, (I have friends, who knew!), never seemed to pull out of the cup!!!
They were regularly pulled out by me when I checked for Rout for my untested units!]

PLB
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule is just as written - you keep charging despite the loss provided you pass the triggered Rout Check.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Asimakis
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for the duplication of threads, my laptop was playing up last night.

PLB.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pierre Le Bear wrote:
Sorry for the duplication of threads, my laptop was playing up last night.

PLB.


No worries. :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.