Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Taking Control of an Equipped Creature? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arturo Ron
United States
Miami
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
If I take control of an opponent's equipped creature what happens to the equipment?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It stays equipped to that creature, but control of the equipment doesn't change, so its controller may equip it to another creature.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Avri
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From magic.wizards.com:

Gaining control of an equipped creature doesn’t give you control of the Equipment on it. The Equipment remains attached to the creature, but only the Equipment’s controller can play its equip ability.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Avri
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
blueart1 wrote:

Exactly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arturo Ron
United States
Miami
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Thank you all very much.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arturo Ron
United States
Miami
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
If a creature changes player who controls an enchantment?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
blueart1 wrote:
If a creature changes player who controls an enchantment?


Same thing (though less likely to move.)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amanda W
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scifiantihero wrote:
blueart1 wrote:
If a creature changes player who controls an enchantment?


Same thing (though less likely to move.)



It's worth noting that some creature Enchantments (Auras) specify "enchant creature you control." If control of that creature changes to a different player, then that specific enchantment would "fall off" and go to the graveyard as a state-based action. (For example: Spirit Loop)

Additionally, as the original controller of the enchantment retains control of it even if the creature changes controllers, then the original controller is the one who gets to use certain abilities some auras have. Abilities to return the aura to hand (Flickering Ward, Agoraphobia, etc.), or to untap the enchanted creature (Crab Umbra) would still be controlled by the person who cast the enchantment, but other auras that grant abilities specifically to the creature (like Madcap Skills, which says "enchanted creature gets +3/+0 and menace, or Lightning Prowess, which gives a creature haste and a tap ability) are used by the creature's new controller.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.