Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Bolt Action» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another use of cover question in Bolt Action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Smorez
United States
Nevada
flag msg tools
Just thoughts about the use of the cover rule in a recent game. Opponent moved half of his figures out of some woods to fire point blank. The claimed cover because 50% were still in cover thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Buman
United States
Harlan
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe as the rules are written that is correct. If at least 50% of your models are in cover, the unit is considered to be in cover.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walts
Scotland
Kilwinning
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
P57 (first para) of the 2nd Ed rules gives the basis for how cover works.

In your case, assuming 50% (or more) of ur troopers could see/shoot
at the 50% out of cover, they receive no cover bonus. 51% of the
troops must be in cover to receive any cover bonus ... Walts

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walts
Scotland
Kilwinning
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
However, it depends on the classification of the woods, which
we generally list as sparse = "Soft Terrain." If you classify
woods to be considered as "Dense Terrain", having 50% in cover
would give you a -2 bonus ... confusing, yes!

One of the reasons for declaring what the terrain is at the
beginning of the game ... Walts

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cassill
Australia
Canberra
Australian Capital Territory
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess this is balanced by the -1 to shooting for moving and only the models which are within point blank getting the point blank bonus.

Within the rules, a bit cheesy though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.