Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Feudum» Forums » Rules

Subject: On a Conquer action, what happens if the defender wins? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Evan Dunn
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
"...to excel above the common rate, in frivolous things, is nothing graceful in a man of quality and honor." - Michel de Montaigne
badge
Let's just play everything always.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If an opponent attacks you and you win, do they have to remove their pawn(s), or does it sit in the space?

Similarly, if you destroy an opponent's Feudum, their influence markers clear, but do their pawns stay in place?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
quietcorn wrote:
If an opponent attacks you and you win, do they have to remove their pawn(s), or does it sit in the space?


Nothing happens to the attacker if the defender wins; it's just a failed action.

Quote:

Similarly, if you destroy an opponent's Feudum, their influence markers clear, but do their pawns stay in place?

The pawn stays. Nothing says to remove it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Frost

Iowa
msg tools
mbmbmb
As you appear to understand, you can either try to Conquer your opponent's Pawn or one of their Feudums. But those are two different types of attacks. With different outcomes if you are successful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Mitchell
United States
Snyder
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MPMelanchthon wrote:
As you appear to understand


And you appear to understand that he understands..... win/win I suppose.shake
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Frost

Iowa
msg tools
mbmbmb
The prior responses had directly answered.

And that "understanding" includes the understanding that a "Starve the People" Conquer action by the Noble is different than an attack on a Pawn or Feudum. And that the "Money is Influence" by a Merchant pawn isn't technically an attack.

One has to keep the moving parts separate but clearly in mind.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Dunn
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
"...to excel above the common rate, in frivolous things, is nothing graceful in a man of quality and honor." - Michel de Montaigne
badge
Let's just play everything always.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Followup question. If the attacker has a monster, and loses the battle, does that player lose control of the monster?

Page 19

Quote:
If either monster is defeated, return it to the Knight Guild for reuse and retrieve your influence marker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
quietcorn wrote:
Followup question. If the attacker has a monster, and loses the battle, does that player lose control of the monster?

Page 19

Quote:
If either monster is defeated, return it to the Knight Guild for reuse and retrieve your influence marker.

It depends whether the monster was the target of the attack. You can only target one thing, and the monster can participate in a defense without being the target. It is removed IFF it is the target (and lost).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Dunn
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
"...to excel above the common rate, in frivolous things, is nothing graceful in a man of quality and honor." - Michel de Montaigne
badge
Let's just play everything always.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So if the monster contributes to the defense of a Feudum, and loses, it doesn't count as having been defeated? That seems odd, but maybe that's true.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
quietcorn wrote:
So if the monster contributes to the defense of a Feudum, and loses, it doesn't count as having been defeated? That seems odd, but maybe that's true.

Correct. It doesn't count as being defeated because it wasn't defeated! It's still on the board.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Warr
United Kingdom
Bromley
Kent
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
quietcorn wrote:
So if the monster contributes to the defense of a Feudum, and loses, it doesn't count as having been defeated? That seems odd, but maybe that's true.


You are always conquering a single target.

If you target a pawn/monster and win, they lose the pawn/monster.

If you target a Feudum and win, the Feudum becomes an outpost and all influence markers there are removed, unless there was a serf of the attacker's colour, in which case that serf stays and becomes ruler of the new outpost.

In both cases, any additional pawns/monsters that helped contribute defence are safe; they were not the target of the conquer action.

Also in both cases, if the attacker loses, nothing happens, they have just wasted their action.
6 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark swanson
United States
Columbia
mo
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
poptasticboy wrote:
quietcorn wrote:
So if the monster contributes to the defense of a Feudum, and loses, it doesn't count as having been defeated? That seems odd, but maybe that's true.


You are always conquering a single target.

If you target a pawn/monster and win, they lose the pawn/monster.

If you target a Feudum and win, the Feudum becomes an outpost and all influence markers there are removed, unless there was a serf of the attacker's colour, in which case that serf stays and becomes ruler of the new outpost.

In both cases, any additional pawns/monsters that helped contribute defence are safe; they were not the target of the conquer action.

Also in both cases, if the attacker loses, nothing happens, they have just wasted their action.


@Chris Warr: Well articulated. You are correct. You know this game well.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.