Jay Townsend
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Pacific Fury Guadalcanal, 1942

I love naval games but I am not very good at them compared to land-action battle games but the Guadalcanal Naval Battles is one of my favorite topics and I own several games on this subject. I recently purchased Pacific Fury thinking it was an easy fast playing game on the subject and my first solo play through, I didn’t really grasp all the concepts very well, until I found this (How to Play Video by Jose): https://www.boardgamegeek.com/video/123058/pacific-fury-guad...

After viewing this, I played solitary a second time and understood everything and actually had no idea who was going to win this two player game even though I was playing both sides. Once you grasp the playing concepts and rules the game seems simple but with all the endless strategies it is far from simple and is a very tense action. I finished play on my second real game last night and the Japanese took initiative on turn two after disrupting Henderson Field and held on to it on turns three and four for the victory. There was a lot of bloody surface and air combat, with the Japanese losing 8 ships and the Americans losing 11 ships, as both sides went out all for control of Guadalcanal and ship losses don’t matter, just control of Henderson Air Field. In my third complete game this morning the Americans won, even though the Japanese Event brought on reinforcements including the Battleship Yamato for the first time, so I am finding this game pretty well balanced.