Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Carrier destroyed, Fighters Capacity and Space Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Le Jedi Fou
France
flag msg tools
Hello there again ! I have questions regarding Fighters capacity during Space Battles.

Here are the things I found in the rulebook :

Rulebook p28 Carrier : If a Carrier is destroyed, any Ground Force and PDS units aboard the Carrier are automatically destroyed. Fighter units can survive if the current system has enough capacity to support the Fighters (supplied by either another Carrier, War Sun, or Space Dock

Rulebook p29 Fighter : If a system contains more Fighter units than its capacity allows, the owner of the Fighter units must immediately return enough Fighters to his reinforcement pile so that the number of Fighter units and the system's capacity is equal.

Rulebook p29 Fighter : Note that a system's Fighter capacity is not relevant during a Space Battle. This means that Fighters participating in a Space Battle can continue to fight even if their Carrier has been destroyed. After a Space Battle has ended, however, Fighter units without sufficient supporting capacity are immediately removed.

This last note suggests that the only time capacity does not apply is during Space Battle.
So when exactly is it 'ok' to lose a Carrier but nothing happens to fighters ?

1- During PDS Fire ? (guess : no)
2- During Mentak Coalition special ability ? (before combat step is listed under Space Battle in the rulebook p15) (guess : yes)
3- During Minister of War ability ? (guess : yes) (same reason as above)
4- During Assault Cannon ability ? (guess : yes) (same reason as above)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) If a carrier is lost during PDS fire, excess fighters are immediately destroyed. PDS fire is more part of "movement" than combat, so the exception doesn't apply.

2) The FAQ clarifies that pre-combat abilities are part of combat. See page 3 of the FAQ, the first 2 questions under "Combat" discuss this. So if a Carrier is destroyed by the Mentak ability, the fighters will remain until the end of combat.

3) Same as #2 (as you infer)

4) Same as #2 (again as you inferred )
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Le Jedi Fou
France
flag msg tools
Thank you again !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.