Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Maria» Forums » Rules

Subject: Austria in Bavaria after France military reduction rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carlos Roig
Germany
Mainz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I tried to find an answer for this, but I haven't found it.

I'm learning the game, and we have in a few days our first Maria game. I understand, I think, almost everything, but not sure about this:

After France has reduced his military objectives, it gets its set-aside markers back to its pool if it re-conquers any fortress in the Bohemia Map. BUT, can Austria then freely conquer Fortresses in Bavaria? Or is there a "peace status" between Austria and France?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Benson
United Kingdom
Liverpool
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
France reduces its military objectives, so it can better defend against Austria. No peace.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thibaut Palfer-Sollier
Norway
Oslo
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only thing forbidden is to conquer fortresses in Bohemia. France can freely fight Austrian generals and move in core Austria.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Keane
United States
Medford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
France/Bavaria/Saxony (if French-controlled) may still battle Austria and defend their fortresses (ie be within 3 spaces), as well as move through core Austria or anywhere else in Bohemia.

Austria may enter Bavaria and Saxony, join battle, capture fortresses (in Saxony only if French controlled of course), and it does not affect France’s reduces vp conditions.

The act of placing a French vp marker on a fortress on the Bohemian map, or removing an Austrian vp marker from a fortress (eg reconquering a Bavarian fortress), is what cancels reduced objectives and returns the set-aside marker to its pool. I believe passing through a defended Austrian fortress, thus placing a question marker, but not ultimately conquering it, does not cancel reduced objectives.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Roig
Germany
Mainz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard sivel
Germany
berlin
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
the answers are correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.