Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is "committing" a card to a skill test "playing" that card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Hubbard
United States
Mullica Hill
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Just ran through the first scenario and this was the only question we came up with.

A player drew an encounter card that said he couldn't play certain types of cards this turn. While performing a skill test he wanted to commit a card that belonged to one of those types and we weren't sure if that was allowed or not.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Scussel
United States
Longwood
FL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you commit a card to use the icons for skill tests, that is not considered "playing" a card (page 11, learn to play, under "Play"). The only time you play a card is when you pay the resource costs to put it into play (and using one of your actions to do so). Using it for icons is not putting it into play.

So the answer to your question is yes, he was allowed to commit that card to the test.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Besides your example, it commonly comes up with Wendy's Amulet. "Playing" and "Comitting" are not the same, which is not clear enough in the Rules but has been confirmed by the developers.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.