BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Art and Graphic Design

Subject: IANAL - Basic Artist Contract rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Bowers
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Hi All,

[19/06/18] Edited: I have replaced the text in my original post with the actual contract that I have discussed and signed with my Artist. Note that the artist I have employed was recommended to me via a mutual acquaintance, so we sat and discussed/amended the contract until both parties were happy. This will need some work with larger entities/total strangers etc.

Points to consider:

- I am not a Lawyer (IANAL)
- I uploaded this on the off-chance that it may be helpful to others
- Tailor to both parties needs as necessary. Note areas in [ ] brackets.
- The style is supposed to be short, concise & readable by humans
^ Basically the opposite of a 'proper' contract

I have pasted it in from my word processor software. Hopefully it retains the formatting.
Thank you to Scott (blaecblaed) and Ivan (ipottersmith) for your comments/suggestions and additions!

P.S. Also, thank you to all of BGG for the ridiculous wealth/fountain of knowledge and support available on this forum/site.

Cheers,
Tom of Willowmoon Games
(in development)

-------------------------------------------------
[Begin Text]

Clauses, Terms and Conditions
Where possible all images must be in a high resolution (300+ DPI) digital format that is compatible with Microsoft Windows systems. Images must be in a file format capable of lossless compression (.PSD, .PNG. TIF etc) and be colour-matched for printing in CMYK (artist to look into).
Images that are in a non-digital medium must be scanned in and sent in a digital format (as above).
If agreed beforehand, then physical media (e.g. paper, canvas etc) may be sent at a maximum size of A4/A3 to allow for scanning.
If in .PSD format, a copy of the original shall be provided in addition to the submitted work.