Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Dust 1947» Forums » Rules

Subject: Airborne Vehicle + Hero Without Airborne rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a Hero pilots a Vehicle is he considered as joining the Vehicle Unit?

If a Vehicle with Airborne is piloted by hero without the Airborne skill, can the Vehicle still use the Airborne skill? Keep in mind that Airborne is not a shared skill.

I am specifically trying to put Panzerprinz (Hero without Airborne) in a Fallschirm RSO / PAK 40 (Vehicle with Airborne) then use Airborne to drop them on the map.

What are your thoughts?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus G
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero
This is a very good question, and you should email it to Dust Studio.

I would definitely rule it as "Yes, a non-Airborne Pilot can Airdrop when piloting an Airborne Vehicle."

On the other hand, I thought I knew how it worked when a non-Airborne Hero join an Airborne infantry unit. Then Greg B from Dust USA posted "official answers" saying something completely different. He said that "it's RAW and it's obvious how it works", but it still makes no sense to me even after reading the rule over and over again...

So, don't take my word for how it works with non-Airborne Pilots.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nevin Beaver
United States
Wilmington
Delaware
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero
I would say that a pilot can pilot a vehicle and use their abilities along with the vehicle's abilities. So I would agree that PP can drop in the airborne vehicle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Shydler
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero
So, does the new faq make this moot? (Only Airborne may join Airborne units).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nevin Beaver
United States
Wilmington
Delaware
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero
I don't see piloting a vehicle the same as "joining" it. Based on my understanding, "joining" only applies to infantry and a hero unit. Of course I could be wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero

I will forward my question to the official FAQ email address.

What was your issue with Airborne?

MagWiz wrote:
On the other hand, I thought I knew how it worked when a non-Airborne Hero join an Airborne infantry unit. Then Greg B from Dust USA posted "official answers" saying something completely different. He said that "it's RAW and it's obvious how it works", but it still makes no sense to me even after reading the rule over and over again...


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus G
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero
marwan_marwan wrote:
What was your issue with Airborne?
:)

There was a discussion on the Dust Monthly forum where somebody asked "what happens if I join a non-Airborne hero with an Airborne unit?"

I thought that it worked like similar skills that is not shared, such as Flying or Camouflage. I.e. a unit cannot use such skills unless all members have the skill. In the case of Airborne it would result in that the combined unit would have to enter the table from the edge like any other non-Airborne unit.

Greg B then answered that such a unit cannot enter the table at all, and counts as destroyed at the end of the game.

Howver, today Dust Studio posted a new FAQ/Errata that takes care of Airborne and Flying, among other things. So it is all clear now (only an Airborne hero can join an Airborne unit).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero

By the way, thanks everyone for your contributions and thoughts on my question.

As for what Magnus was talking about, I guess Airborne is now similar to Zombie and Gorilla in being strict on who can join them.

Where is the new FAQ/Errata posted? I hope it is not only on FB
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus G
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero
marwan_marwan wrote:
Where is the new FAQ/Errata posted? I hope it is not only on FB

When in doubt, always check Dust War Journals first
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero

Any thoughts or opinions on the original question? I am still unclear on how this would work.

I understand that in the new errata only Airborne units can join Airborne units but is piloting the same as joining?

I would love to hear people's opinions and thoughts on this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus G
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero
I have no official answer to point to, but I'm fairly sure that a Pilot does not "join" the Vehicle he/she is piloting. I'm also fairly sure that a non-Airborne Pilot in an Airborne Vehicle is legal and that they are deployed using the Airborne rule.

Why am I sure? Because otherwise it would be very weird when playing Koshka's Smersh Platoon. The entire platoon is Airborne, except its leader who has to enter by foot? No, that can't possibly be how it's supposed to work...
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Airborne Vehicle + Non-Airborne Hero

I just got an email response to the following question...

marwan_marwan wrote:
Hello,

Can a Hero without the Airborne skill pilot a Vehicle with the Airborne skill?

Would this be the same as Koshka's Smersh KV-47 Platoon?

Please let me know.

Thanks,

Marwan


Dust Studio's response...

dust.1947.rules.questions@gmail.com wrote:
No


<sigh>

It is an answer but not a very helpful one, and it does not explain why it is different than Koshka's platoon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus G
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's...weird.

I just sent an email to DS, asking basically the same question:

MagWiz wrote:

Hi,

Can Panzerprins Pilot an Axis RSO Vehicle?

If yes, does he deploy via the vehicle's Airborne rule?

If no to either question, please explain why?

Cheers,
Magnus


If/when I get an answer I'll post it here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

I hope that you get a better answer than mine
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Anything yet?

MagWiz wrote:
If/when I get an answer I'll post it here.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus G
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, sorry I forgot to post...

This is the exact answer I got:

Dust Studio wrote:

No, he does not. Faq has already rules abour airborne and non airborne.


I then responded to that with the following:

MagWiz wrote:
Thanks.

In the Errata, the Airborne rule says "Only an Airborne Unit can Join an Airborne Unit". So in this case "Joining a unit" is the same as "piloting a unit"?

If yes, that is not entirely clear from the Errata since Joining and Piloting is not exactly the same thoughout the rules. For example, a Hero who is Joined to an Infantry unit cannot leave that unit during the game. But a Hero who is piloting a vehicle can decide to leave the vehicle and continue on foot.

In fact, on page 40 of the rulebook, the rules talk separately about "Joining Infantry Units" and "Piloting Vehicles". In the section for Piloting, it does not mention the word Join at all or that this the same as Joining Infantry Units.


I have not received an answer to this yet
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan Marwan مروان مروان
Canada
Greater Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Thanks for the follow up Magnus! Please keep us posted if you hear back from them.

I personally agree with you interpretation, and I will continue to play it that way until this issue is addressed/explained clearly.

PS - Good job on the Dust War Journals episode 24. Keep up the good work.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus G
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just sent DS another email:

MagWiz wrote:
Hi again,

Sorry to ask again but I want to be 100% sure of how this works. From your previous answer I understand it as Panzerprinz cannot Pilot an Airborne vehicle, such as an FJ RSO for example (you referred to the Errata where "Only an Airborne Unit can Join an Airborne Unit"). Is it correct that Panzerprinz cannot Pilot an Airborne Vehicle?

If Panzerprinz cannot Pilot an Airborne Vehicle, it also means that Koshka cannot pilot Grand'ma in "Koshka's Smersh Platoon". Is it correct that Koshka cannot Pilot Grand'ma when playing Koshka's Smersh Platoon?
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.