Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Absolute Victory: World Conflict 1939-1945» Forums » General

Subject: Some questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Herbert Gratz
Austria
Vienna
Unspecified
flag msg tools
In a recent game (GE in Paris first Pulse in 39, attack on RU in J/A 40) a few issues popped up:

Naval: a small UN TF (1 CV + 1 BB) searched for an Axis Raider, didn't find, can it continue straight on to a different hex with a 2nd axis raider in the same pulse?
What if it had found and destroyed the first one? Could it then carry on to a second raider in the same pulse?

Strategic: max. is 60. If you get an increase beyond that it is lost or do you still get it but only 60 Counts?

Land: A RU and a GE stack sit next to ea. other. No other Units adjacent. In order for one to move into the opponents hex it Needs to leave a unit guarding supply, correct?
Assume GE does this and attacks the RU stack. If RU has to retreat it is eliminated instead as it would have to retreat into an enemy ZOC (exerted by the stack it had cobat with). Correct?
Assume same Situation on the coast: now no unit Needs to be left as Units on the coast are in supply anway.
If attacker loses he is placed back into the hex he came from. Defenders ZOC is irrelevant in this case. Correct?

Peculiar: IT stack on the North African coast with the BR Med Fleet stacked on it: IT is still in Overseas supply supply as Overseas supply isn't cut by a Little Thing like Cunningham and his Boys. Correct?
A couple of supply Raids later the ITs are all flipped but still defend normally when attascked as they are still in supply. Correct?

Production: can neutral countries regear their factories?

Paratrooper tactic in RU: during our game (remeber RU 40! Which means weak RU.) we found the following tactic very strong: Teleport GE HQ onto an INF next to a sm. RU stack and attack it. Next rail a unit in. Next teleport the next HQ (this works without 'railing a unit in' too) and continue moving/attacking.With half a dozend HQs you can increase your 'tange' from the usual 4 hexes from the closest stack considerably.
On the other Hand you might well have only 1 Turn per year where you have good weather in RU.

Any cpomments?
Cheers
H.
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Madison
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Herbert,

Thanks for the questions. That's a lot to chew on. Could you please cite specific rules, and phrase your questions in a yes/no format? That would make it really easy for me to help.

Cheers,

Ben
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HOI3 Chaplain
United States
Enumclaw
Washington
flag msg tools
NAVAL - no.

STRATEGIC - 60 is a hard cap; excess lost.

LAND - your language isn't clear. Not following the question. :-/

PECULIAR - a surface ship exerts a zone in its own hex, so supply cut.

PRODUCTION - no.

TACTIC - hmmm. Hadn't thought of that. From a strict rules standpoint, it's ok. I guess it sorta simulates blitzkrieg, so ... why not?


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herbert Gratz
Austria
Vienna
Unspecified
flag msg tools
8.3.7 means that in order to attack an enemy stack from one adjacent hex - and no other friendly Units adjacent - you would Need to leave a unit there as otherwise the defending stack would put the attackers OOS by exerting a ZOC into the now empty hex the attackers came from.
Is this correct?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herbert Gratz
Austria
Vienna
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Naval: on another reading I am not confused any longer: 8.6.3 stipulates that a ZOP does not cut supply but 8.5.4 says a ZOC does. So you could move a ship into a coastal hex/port, supply raid and later put Units adjacent, cut supply and attack with all the Benefits of cut supply on flipped Units, possibly even isolated Units.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herbert Gratz
Austria
Vienna
Unspecified
flag msg tools
10.2.5 moves attackes back to the hex they came from. This could be in an enemy ZOC. (It isn't a retreat.) Correct?
It is a bit of a fetch but the situastion could be that a stack with an HQ moves all ist Units unto an enemy stack in a coastal hex. (It doesn't Need to Keep a unit back in this case as the HQ works as a port and therefore everybody is supplied.)

10.3.3 However, a Defender if forced to retreat would have to be destroyed instead as all hexes adjacent to the battlehex are in an enemy ZOC if empty ipso facto.

I just thought that this was an interesting Differentiation. Also, I wondered why this was treated differently.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herbert Gratz
Austria
Vienna
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Sorry: re the oversea supply issue, I was right to be confused, the Situation is actually as follows; stacks with a Garrison or HQ or a port with a unit in it are always in supply as no ZOC can extend into the hex (friendly unit negates ZOC). Therefore the port Always works (GARR or HQ Count as a port). But if a ZOP extends into the hex then this allows supply Raids if supply is drawn as Overseas supply.
However, other than flipping units this has no further disadvantage as such a stack is still in supply as long as the Garrison or HQ remains (or at least one unit stays in the port to negate ZOCs).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herbert Gratz
Austria
Vienna
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Do I Need to try to explain the Questions better or is the reason for not getting an answer that we Played it correctly?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haggett
United States
Riverside
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You played it correctly. Supply raids hinder the ability of an overseas army to conduct operations, but does not isolate them. You'll need an actual army of your own to root them out, the way the CW did with the AOI.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.