Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Balloon Cup» Forums » General

Subject: Optional rule: Replace a card with a seven of the same color! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Duff
United States
The Colony
Texas
flag msg tools
Optional rule: Replace a card with a seven of the same color!

Often a tile which is "locked in" but not full yet hangs around for a long time before the winning card is played. This rule makes that more risky! And it makes the boring seven cards more interesting!

When a player has a seven card in their hand, they may play it according to the normal rules.

But they may also replace any card of the same color already played on either side of a tile with the seven from their hand! The card being replaced is discarded face-up and the player draws a new card. This ends their turn.

For example, the player might pick up a red thirteen and replace it with a red seven, lowering the count on that side of the tile by six. Or they might pick up a gray four and replace it with a gray seven, increasing the count on that side of the tile by three.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ender Wiggins
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Optional rule: Replace a card with a seven of the same color!
pduff (#33936),

This really does add a "wild" feature to the game. An otherwise safely won tile (which is not yet full, but say needs one card to be won), can be lost as a result of someone playing a seven in this way!

Has anyone tried playing with this rule? It sounds interesting, and I'm curious how it affects gameplay, and works in practice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.