Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Tau Ceti: Planetary Crisis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Losing GP when initiating a battle and battle rounds rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Victor L
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmb
The Spoils of War section (page 24) says

Quote:
If you were the Initiator of the battle and win, you lose 1 GP but may steal ONE of the following...

If you were NOT the Initiator of the battle and win,... the Initiator loses 1 GP AND a Diplomacy card...


So from this it sounds like the Initiator of a battle always loses 1 GP, unless the battle ends in a Stalemate after 4 rounds. (I assume that you are considered the winner if your opponent retreats.)

In any case, the reference card mentions that you can lose GP by failing IMs, but not that you do so for initiating a battle.

Also, does a round of battle consist of each player attacking, or just one. That is, after 4 rounds of battle, has each player attacked twice or four times? (I initially thought it would be four times, but the boxed text describes a battle round as having only two steps, attack and counter-defense. It's not clear to me whether the last paragraph is saying that the players should then switch roles as part of the same round, or if it is just setting up for the next round.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you always lose a GP when attacking. Think of it as the counsel losing a little faith in you due to your aggressiveness. Now if you win the battle (which you should have a good chance of doing or why would you attack in the first place?) then you have a good chance of getting something good in exchange for your GP loss as well as setting back your rival as they run off to lick their wounds.


1 Round of combat is as follows;
Both Players assign shields.
The initial attacker rolls attack equal to their weapons.
The defender rolls defense equal to their computers.
Any attacks that make it past the defenders shields and defense roll cause damage.

At this point, the round of combat is over and the players switch rolls with the original attacker becoming the defender now and the original defender becoming the attacker.

In 4 rounds, each player will get to attack twice and defend twice.
2 
 Thumb up
0.10
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamel Rha
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reading the title, I thought at first « losing geek points for starting a battle, is that the right place for a forum issue ».

I need more of that Tau Ceti coffee it seems.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor L
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmb
Ender02 wrote:
Yes, you always lose a GP when attacking. Think of it as the counsel losing a little faith in you due to your aggressiveness. Now if you win the battle (which you should have a good chance of doing or why would you attack in the first place?) then you have a good chance of getting something good in exchange for your GP loss as well as setting back your rival as they run off to lick their wounds.


Thanks. It just seems an odd way to describe it, rather than simply saying up front that you lose a GP for initiating an attack. Also, as the rules are written, I believe that you do not lose a GP if the battle ends in Stalemate.

Quote:
1 Round of combat is as follows;
Both Players assign shields.
The initial attacker rolls attack equal to their weapons.
The defender rolls defense equal to their computers.
Any attacks that make it past the defenders shields and defense roll cause damage.

At this point, the round of combat is over and the players switch rolls with the original attacker becoming the defender now and the original defender becoming the attacker.

In 4 rounds, each player will get to attack twice and defend twice.


This makes sense too, but I wish the rules were clearly on the matter. Also, why would the attacker assign shields?

Thanks again for the answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.