Kevin Manrique
msg tools
If I am reading the rules correctly, the starting mission cards can be used every turn right? And the Rapid Mobilization can only be used once the Rebel base is found. But if the rebel base has been found, doesn't that mean the imperials win after the battle if they had units there. Or would the rebels use Rapid Mobilization as a retreat option? I am confused on the turn order in terms of combat and doing the mission cards.

Though the second option says they can establish a new rebel base whenever there is 2 leaders assigned to the card. Can the imperial player oppose it?

Also, how can the imperial player create 2 death stars if there is only 1 project card to create a single death star?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Tarr
United States
Floyds Knobs
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rapid Mobilization can be used whether the base is revealed or not.

The first option is only valid if the base is NOT revealed.

The second option can be used whether the base is revealed or not.

And they can establish a new rebel base even with only one leader assigned. In that case, they follow the instructions in the rulebooks. However, if the rebel player CHOOSES to assign two, they get to look at 8 cards instead of 4.

So basically, when the imperials get close, you assign someone to Rapid Mobilization probably every turn.

Draw your 4 cards, and move the base if you like the results. Best to not wait until the last moment to move it, in case the cards you draw are not valid locations for the new base (i.e. Imperials are already there).

Edited to add: It's a "resolve" mission, so it cannot be opposed by the Imperials.

As far as the 2 death stars, you start with 1 in play, so the project card puts the second in play.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick T
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
RM can be used to bring units back to the hidden “base space” without moving the base. You still have to have ships capable of transport and no rebel leaders in the system you are moving units from.

Doesn’t matter if you assign 1 or 2 leaders (that only affects how many probe cards you draw for a potential new base).

You only lose if there are no Rebel units at the revealed base system and there is at least 1 imperial unit in that system.

So...at the end of the Command phase, you resolve RM. it is a resolve mission (as opposed to attempt mission), so it cannot be opposed by the imperial player. If you choose the relocate option, you draw either 4 or 8 probe cards depending on number of leaders assigned to RM. if the base is already revealed, relocate is your only option; you cannot move units from another system to the base system. You then can move the base to one of the drawn systems or elect not to move the base. If you move the base, the old base is revealed, the Probe card for that system is given to the imperial and any units in the base space appear in that system. They do not stay in the “base space”. So...your new base will be unguarded.

Go back and reread the Rapid Mobilization section in the Rules Reference multiple times. It can be confusing.

Hope that gets you started.

Edit: didn’t type fast enough.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Genestealer Patriarch
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rapid Mobilisation is one of the unusual missions for now it works.

There is a beginner's guide here:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1956434/guide-rapid-mobilis...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.