Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: table [+] [View All]
Schuyler Warren
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm finally getting around to replacing our gaming table, and I'm looking to build a larger table based on the world-famous $150 game table design. Mine will definitely come in at more than that though.

My goal is to get away from the corner post table base and go to a truss base if possible to make sure there's lots of leg room. Stability is a factor though.

As a designer, I'm pretty handy with Sketchup, but woodworking and physics are not my forte. I'm hoping that someone who does know either of these things could give some feedback on my model.

The table design is dimensioned, and I made an exploded model as well to make it easier to see how I'm imagining things will go together.

Would love feedback, and once I finalize, I'll be glad to share the as-builts and photos. Dropbox link to Sketchup file, photos below.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ud660o3zbvwuvc7/Game%20Table.skp

Cheers!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Saxton
United States
Affton (St. Louis)
Missouri
flag msg tools
After all, gas can is my middle name. Eh, not really.
mbmbmbmbmb
Looks like a classic library table, if not as tall. Should work quite well.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryann Turner
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This is what I did. It works very well. You probably won't need the extra 2x4s in the X portion of the base.

I am to post a thread in the next week or so.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Schuyler Warren
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! Good to see an example of someone else's design. You saved me some $ on 2x4s as well. Pretty good stability along the narrow axis?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryann Turner
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb