Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Hector and Achilles» Forums » General

Subject: Winning conditions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My translation says that you win if:

a) The 3 frontal stacks of the opponent are depleted, or

b) The home stack of the opponent is depleted

Are these correct? Some fellow players insist that b) should say: The home stack and one of the 3 frontal stacks...

???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francesco Nepitello
Italy
Venezia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Winning conditions?
GeoMan wrote:
My translation says that you win if:

a) The 3 frontal stacks of the opponent are depleted, or

b) The home stack of the opponent is depleted

Are these correct? Some fellow players insist that b) should say: The home stack and one of the 3 frontal stacks...

???


You are correct (even if I can't think right now how you can deplete your home stack without first losing at least one of the frontal stacks...).

Francesco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Bailey Sr.
United States
Jonesborough
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Winning conditions?
Francesco Nepitello (#34191),
If the attacker turns over a 4 and chooses the home stack. Wouldnt that be a way your opponent could loose his home stack before one of the front ones?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Bailey Sr.
United States
Jonesborough
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Winning conditions?
Skyjack (#35205),
after all it says may choose freely a stack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francesco Nepitello
Italy
Venezia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Winning conditions?
Skyjack wrote:
Francesco Nepitello (#34191),
If the attacker turns over a 4 and chooses the home stack. Wouldnt that be a way your opponent could lose his home stack before one of the front ones?


No, he can freely choose only from the three front stacks.

In fact, the image in the rulebook showing that the home stack is numbered with a '4' is wrong.
That was our (the designer's) intention, anyway. I never tried the game interpreting the rules in that other way. Could possibly give interesting results

Francesco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francesco Nepitello
Italy
Venezia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Winning conditions?
Small addenda...

an attacker turning a four can naturally choose a stack corresponding to a frontal enemy stack already depleted, to attack his home stack (but you surely know that already).

Francesco
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.