Played for the first time last night and a player wanted to spend 1 GP, and move two fleets from a single space each two spaces away, in two opposite directions.
It does not seem to be in the spirit of the rule, and it is counter to the example
From page 5 of the rules:
For 1 GP, the player may move Fleets currently on the same sea space and move them a maximum of 3 spaces. He can add or abandon Fleets during that movement.If Fleets enter a space occu-pied by enemy Fleets, their movement ends and a naval battle begins imimmediately.
To me, this should have cost 2 GP. But he pressed the issue, claiming that it wasn't technically specified that the fleets had to move together.
If he had only wanted to move one space away, it would have been fine, right? One space left, drop one, then two back the other way.