I just got my first Sea Dragon with...movement D???
What the heck! I read the rules and they can't be right. They can't be! It says the sea dragon can move anywhere with any distance? WHAAA??? Does this mean I control it and on each of my turn I can move it next to any ship and attack it with all 4 sections or do a swoop attack and do 2 damage? That's nuts! More like, that's stupid. What a broekn rule if this is correct.
So can someone tell me if this is correct? And if so, why the hell does it make any sense?
Yes and no.
Yes, you can put it anywhere you want (except on enemy home islands, I think). Just pick it up, and put it down, and there it is.
No, you can't then attack with it. Sea dragons are like any other ship; they can move, or they can shoot, but not both in the same turn, unless they have a special ability or a crew that allows it. Dragons, having no cargo, can carry no crew. So you can plop your dragon down next to any ship you want, but that other ship is going to shoot first.
The only way around this is to find a really slow ship (S move), with no Helmsman, and with all S-range cannons (who would use such a ship anyway?), and land within S+S range of him. Unless he runs away, his next move won't bring him close enough to shoot you, but you'll be in range for a swoop attack.
A better plan is to land somewhere near where the enemy ships are, and let them come to you. Or use your other ships to herd them to you.