GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,364 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

John Company» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can players use their own money to boost company actions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
King Maple
Estonia
Tallinn
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I cannot find any information about it. A6 about cash flow doesn't say anything either.

Sure it may not be smart, but it may involve player property and success of their president.

Is it possible? The reverse-embezzlement?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dimitris Kapogeorgos
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are 2 schools of thought in board games.

The first says : if you can't find it in the rulebook it's not allowed.

The second says : if it's not in the rulebook, it's allowed.

You and your fellow players choose which to follow, although most of the game designers go for the first, in my humble opinion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Cunha
Norway
Lysaker
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
No, it's not allowed. Can't swear it's in the rulebook, but I think it is somewhere.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dimitris Kapogeorgos
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
F1. Overview and Office Actions
In the Company Phase, Company offices are given the opportunity to take
actions. The Chairman begins the phase by calling the Company to order and
filling any vacancies. Then, following the red Company track starting with the
Ship Purchasing office, each office is given the opportunity to act. Provincial
offices act after their corresponding Presidents in order of formation
(oldest office acting first). When an office acts, it must resolve its actions in
the order indicated on the office. Blue and black actions are optional with
blue actions requiring a Check (F2), as described below. Green actions are
mandatory. If an action has a cost, the cost must be paid using funds from
the acting office.


Take a look at the designer's notes, in the end of the rulebook. It mentions somewhere that company money is by far more than an equal amount of player money, so I think that player money can't be used in company actions because it's inadequate.
7 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
King Maple
Estonia
Tallinn
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
elminster41 wrote:
There are 2 schools of thought in board games.

The first says : if you can't find it in the rulebook it's not allowed.

The second says : if it's not in the rulebook, it's allowed.

You and your fellow players choose which to follow, although most of the game designers go for the first, in my humble opinion.


I totally agree (and agree with designers). But I was confused because there was an action that allowed this (buying captained ships).

In any case, this should have been mentioned in cash flow section of the rules.

Thanks for clarifying!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
King Maple
Estonia
Tallinn
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh one more question. I assume that chairman cannot use money from president office coffers either in company expenses phase?

I assume not as I cannot find anything permitting this. Though it feels weird thematically as president might want to help and this doesn't have the same issue as family coin value vs company.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dimitris Kapogeorgos
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how we played it.
No chairman's hand in presidency's money.
I imagine it as the presidencies's money being faaaaar faaaar away!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ste M
msg tools
This is motivated even more in another part of the rulebook.

It is stated that the order of magnitude of the money of the company is a lot bigger than the money of the player. Because when you take money from the company is thinned down by bribes and kickback.

Thus 1 gold of the company is not equal to 1 gold of a player. That's why you can't use money of the player for company action.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Latto
United States
Foxboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
elminster41 wrote:
There are 2 schools of thought in board games.

The first says : if you can't find it in the rulebook it's not allowed.

The second says : if it's not in the rulebook, it's allowed.

In my experience, no-one actually believes in the second school of thought; they just use it to try to justify some action not specified in the rules that they think should be legal.

Do any economic games say "You may not take $100 from the bank and put it in your personal treasury"? Does anyone believe that this is legal in most games, because it's not in the rulebook?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.