GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,153 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Legendary: A Marvel Deck Building Game» Forums » General

Subject: Are sidekicks essential? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Wei

Horsham
Pennsylvania
msg tools
Hi all, I'm relatively new to legendary (have the base + dark city). I plan on adding the FF, GoTG, & X-men expansions and on the fence for the secret wars vol 1 expansion.

My question is, are sidekicks essential, especially with the difficulty boost from the xmen expansion, that I need to buy SW1?

Without the sidekicks would SW1 expansion be worth it?

Thanks in advance.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michal
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In all my multiplayer plays my players always used sidekicks. In most of my solo players I recruit them if I have spare stars and there is nothing else I could buy.

Base sidekicks are powerful cause they allow to draw 2 cards. When they are mixed with pet avenger sidekicks the sidekick stack is more balanced. It does not give so much advantage.
I also use new recruits from Villans but compared to sidekicks they are used rarely.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I definitely don't think sidekicks are essential, but I never play without them.

SW1 has some popular heroes including Black Bolt, Black Panther, Dr Strange, Namor, Captain Marvek, Lady Thor, Magik, and Morales version of Spiderman. Kitty Pryde is there as well, but she is already in the X-Men expansion.

My biggest knock against this expansion is 4 of the 6 "Villain" groups consist of heroes.