I love this game, but the thought occurred to me: during the initial phase of the game where you pick the cards to become the dungeon, what if everyone discarded the cards to the point where the hero has no equipment? What then? My thoughts would be the options are to add to the dungeon or pass, but is there an official ruling?
Yep. Official ruling comes from the official rule book:
Official rule book wrote:
Note : If you draw a Monster card, and the Adventurer has no more Equipment, you must add the Monster to the Dungeon.