GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,487 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Railways of the World» Forums » Rules

Subject: questions on major lines and engine size rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Defense
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played Rails of Europe last night but 2 things weren't clear to us:

-- For major lines, do you have to own each section of the route between cities, or just the beginning and end?

-- Does your engine have to be big enough to complete an entire major line, even though the routes you actually own might actually be less than the total?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
robbydee wrote:
-- For major lines, do you have to own each section of the route between cities, or just the beginning and end?

Yes, you must own a complete continuous route.


robbydee wrote:
-- Does your engine have to be big enough to complete an entire major line, even though the routes you actually own might actually be less than the total?

No, you don't need to be able to run a single train along the whole route.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Murr Rockstroh
United States
Fleming Island
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
robbydee wrote:
We played Rails of Europe last night but 2 things weren't clear to us:

-- For major lines, do you have to own each section of the route between cities, or just the beginning and end?

-- Does your engine have to be big enough to complete an entire major line, even though the routes you actually own might actually be less than the total?


1. A player has to own each section.
From the Complete Compendium Rules:

Major Lines: Major Lines are identified on the board and are available throughout the game. Major Lines represent strategic routes; and, once these two cities have been connected by links owned by a single player, that player receives the points shown on the chart and that Major Line cannot be scored by anyone else.

2. No.

ninja 'd
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Defense
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That was quick! Wow.

Thank you!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.